4th thread at picking a kit

dwarf

Tell me which ones you like and yes my price has gone up (stuipid common sence and drummers :p )

Mapex

Sonor (possibaly in rock size)

Premier

I also saw some tamas with 18 inch bass drums, but shyed away from them, I will be using this kit primerialy for recording in my shed at home. We will be playing anything from metal to jazz.

Thanks.

ps. Don't shoot me I'm just trying to get the most information before I decide.

Oh and there's no way I can try these strictly internet purchase

Great idea: Getting More Info :D

I'm fairly new at drumming but when I bought my kit awhile back I didn't shop the internet. Being a musician for mucho years, I knew enough to get my ass to a few music stores and see first hand what's up.

I compared practically every set for construction, size, materials and sound. I listened to a few opinions but I got mostly just preferences, no solid real reasons of which kit to go with, besides how would one know without playing a particular kit? They can all have problems :rolleyes:

Know what your budget is before you start! I see yours has changed already :eek:

Go with pad and pencil and create your price list. You'd be surprised how the prices fall when they see someone serious enough about buying to be writing things down, not to mention when you have it in black and white to compare right in front of you the bullshit don't fly too much.

Be careful because they are trying to make a buck off you and they'll all be short on details and you'll end up buying all kinds of extras. Don't be afraid to ask how much an extra tom will cost or cymbal or double pedal or whatever. Write it down, add it up. What extras does this kit come with? Details. right them down.