16/48 Vs 24/96 recording wise.

MenT-aL

Hi i would just like to know what the real difference is between a 16/48 bit recording and 24/96bit soundcard, quality wise, and any other related issues.

16/48 being the quality of a CD, i can't understand the difference sound wise unless you are playing back through a pair of $2000 speakers.

Sorry if the question isn't specific enough but i am new to the whole pc recording scene.

cheers

aL

Search the Archives

Search the archives. This had been discussed before. I am not saying that we are lazy discussing it now, it justs that the thread that discussed it was quite extensive and revealing and you don't want to miss out.

Good luck.

I don't mind answering - I hope the others don't mind - it's just that I know so little that I like the opportunity to show off what I do know sometimes. I'll probably get this wrong, though. :D

There are two main advantages of recording at 24-bit rather than 16-bit: first, 24-bit can handle a much greater dynamic range, and so you don't need your recording levels so close to clipping all the time, and you can catch more of the quiet parts without hearing noise on the track. Good. Second, if you listen carefully, you can hear the difference between 24-bit and 16-bit: 16-bit sounds kind of grainy, or raw, by comparison.