$10 Amp Better than a Valve-Jr.

mikeh

I've been playing through a POD & a J-Station for the last several years. I thought is worked fine - since guitar is not my main axe, it was a tool to dial up a guitar sound in a hurry.

Now I've bougt a couple of small low watt solid state amps over the years (for recording) and was never all that impressed. One old combo I had sitting around was a Sears 10XL - which I bought for $10 at a rummage sale (actually I bought a mic stand for $10 and the guy let me have the amp for free).

I never tried it and it just sat with the other combos that I no longer used. So recently I bought an Epiphone Valve Jr. head (after so many people here talked them up). I picked up a Sonic 2x12 and a 1x10 cab and started to really like the tone (as my playing has gotten better I now am in search of guiter tone - rather than guitar sounds).

So, I decided to compare the Epiphone to my other small solid state combos (Marshall, Fender, Peavey & Roland) and naturally the EPI sounded better than all of them (although the Marshal Lead 12 is by far the best sounding of my solid state amps).

Since I'm playing around, I pull out this old Sears and turn it on. Nothing happens and I figure it's dead, Then all of a sudden some sound comes out and I realize that it's a tube amp (it has an enclosed back and I never even bothered to check).

So I start playing with it and it actually sounds better than the Valve Jr. - so I do a quick internet search and find out this thing is from like the late 50' or early 60's.

Suddenly, I have this amazing tone that I did not thing I was capable of getting - from a 40 plus year old $10 amp that's been collecting dust for about 5 years. I feel like a fool that I did not know what I had - but now that I know......WOW!!!!!

In the 80's this guy I knew picked up an old no name tube amp at a garage sale for $5. It was about 14 inches tall, 10 inches wide, open back with a 6 inch speaker and an input, volume and on/off switch.