002R for recording?

Jonty

Hey, I'm completely new to recording and would like some advice on recording my metal band.

We are looking to record, and as we want to spend a fair amount, we don't want to spend it on a one-off recording session at a professional studio.

We need to

The gear that we have at the moment is a Line6 Pod2.0, a Line6 Spider2 amp, a Warwick bass amp with D/I, a Shure SM58, a set of Sennheiser HD-555 and a really good PC.

I was looking at getting a Digidesign 002R, 2 SM57's, 2 more sets of headphones, a vocal mic and two condenser mics.

Now for the questions! :)

Is there anything immediately wrong with this setup?
Do we need a headphone amp?
What vocal mic should we get?
How should we record? Bass guitar, guitar and drums then overdub vocals and lead?
Which condensers are cheap and good for overheads?
(Anything else I haven't mentioned please tell me, oh and we have a good room to record in)

Oh, and our budget is $2000 or less...

Cheers in advance. :)

Is there anything immediately wrong with this setup? Yeah - you've excluded someone with some recording experience SERIOUSLY.
Do we need a headphone amp? YES if someone is recording and at leats one person is playing you do - or a splitter or SOMETHING.
What vocal mic should we get?A Good one
How should we record? drums, Bass guitar (1 mic & 1 DI), guitar and then overdub vocals and lead - But you may want to record a guide track of guitar & vox at the same time as or before the drums - using a drum machine/click track for tempo.
Which condensers are cheap and good for overheads? MHS1
(Anything else I haven't mentioned please tell me, oh and we have a good room to record in)
What are you using to monitor/mix?
What program are you recording into?
What interface will you use?
DI box!
Cables (esp ext h/phone one for the drummer.)

rayc said:
What are you using to monitor/mix?
What program are you recording into?
What interface will you use?
DI box!