I flip the script on bands seeking members

The one you drum in, or the one you play guitar in?

The one I guitar in.

The drumming gig is solid as can be.

In all fairness though, the "band partnership agreement" we all signed does say that a resigning member has to provide written notice. So I did.

Every band I was ever in had like 1 or 2 people who just wouldn't show up regularly or really commit, so I just stopped trying. Lol

It's a musician thing, non musicians just want to hear good music, covers or not.
ummmm ..... I'm a musician. So how's it a musician thing when I disagree with it strongly?

Anyone who isn't an idiot wants to hear good music , covers or not.
Further ALL live music is covers ..... unless you're making it up on the spot it's a cover. Of course, good players do lots of imrpov on everything so they do make it up on the spot other than the lyrics .... and that's why the generalization of "I hate cover bands' is dumb and offensive to those of us that do that.
Virtually ALL jazz is covers with lots of improvisation and I bet moresound is all impressed by any jazz greats he does sound for .... the same guys that simply improvise over covers.

I truly hate the prejudice against covers ...... it's just a 'musician' trying to show how cool he is because 'he hates covers' so he must be cool and creative.
I play covers all the time because that's how to make the most money on a local level and it doesn't bother me even a little bit.
It would never occur to me to think, "Oh poor me ...... I'm only playing covers' and I'm as good a musician as anyone anywhere.
The way I play them has tons of room for creativity.

Now ...... if you just don't WANT to play them ....... that's different. I don't want to play metal ...... i's just not a music style that interests me ...... but I'd never say anything disparaging about it ...... just not my thing.