Ribbon Mics

PapaMan

Question:
I'm new to home recording & hope I'm not asking a stupid question
Is it foolishness to want to record an entire acoustic project with ribbon mics?
I love the sound of them, have several, and I'm intrigued with the idea.

Any input?

Thanx.

No, it is not foolishness at all, in fact I have a repeat client coming up soon and she plays guitar, mandolin & banjo (not all at the same time LOL) while singing. To get separation a couple of albums ago I used all ribbon mics (fig8 of ribbons pattern works great in this regard), the ribbons suited her vocal better than anything else I had anyway, I would not have tried the ribbon usually so a nice surprise.

I reckon it's an interesting thought to use all ribbons on a project.

Alan.

I can't imagine why it would be any different than recording an album with any other kind of mic. Fire it up!

I'd like to hear the results. I have ribbon mic that sounds pretty good for certain things. I've been putting it in front of an electric guitar amp. I place it much farther from the amp than I would a dynamic mic, two or three feet or even more. It gives the guitar a silky tone that works in my music. I've found it's a bit dark for most other things, like vocals or acoustic guitar. There must be tricks I don't know.

No issue at all with using all ribbons. One added bonus of a ribbon mic is you can record into each side of the mic to produce a different tonality since the back side of the mic will be a bit brighter than the front.

For their tones definitely and as said, fig-8's fantastic isolation.
I end up with them as sort of a first go to especially on clean guitar cabs. 5-6" out..
Then there's the times you don't want or need a tamed top though. (..CAD M179 : >)

Don't forget the pop screens for the vocalist.