First Recording Gig

jigfresh

Enjoying life
I've been working with some guys who like to burn money. They've set up a little studio and are going to have me of all people be in charge. :confused:

They booked a band for this weekend to record a 4 song EP. I'm really excited about the whole thing, but also nervous as I know very little about mixing, and even less about mastering. Also nervous about how the flow is going to go during tracking. I really wish I would have paid attention 20 years ago when the band I was in recorded in a real studio.

Wish us all luck, I think we'll need it.

And any tips for a complete beginner on his first project would be welcome.

Keep levels low. -18dBFS or so in DAW. Do not clip preamps. Spend the time getting the tone right at the source then experiment with mic placement. Tune the drums and instruments. Don't pick your nose.

:)

I've been working with some guys who like to burn money. They've set up a little studio and are going to have me of all people be in charge. :confused:

They booked a band for this weekend to record a 4 song EP. I'm really excited about the whole thing, but also nervous as I know very little about mixing, and even less about mastering. Also nervous about how the flow is going to go during tracking. I really wish I would have paid attention 20 years ago when the band I was in recorded in a real studio.

Wish us all luck, I think we'll need it.

And any tips for a complete beginner on his first project would be welcome.

Boy....you seem to be taking this seriously. :D

So it's like Wednesday....and you're a "complete beginner"....confused as to why they asked you to be in charge...and you know "very little about mixing and even less about mastering"....

...but you're still doing a first time recording gig just 3 days from now....and you want tips? :laughings:

You have extra large huevos! ;)