GearFest Mixing Contest

Status
Not open for further replies.
puremx contest

Here's my submission. I've been a musician for about 10 years but I just started doing my own mixes about 4 months ago. I really love the art of mixing!
I found it challenging to get the drums to sound reasonable and still retain the "raucousness." The hi hat was really annoying me but I didn't want to make the drums sound too weak. Another challenge was keeping the excitement level after the second half of the song. For me the song itself is a little weak and the arrangement is kind of boring so it was a challenge to "keep it moving" without changing anything or adding parts. I kind of went for a psych rock vibe mixed with Ike and Tina. I really enjoyed the project!

Did they say 1st prize was fecal matters?

Last edited:
For me the song itself is a little weak and the arrangement is kind of boring....

Surprising it took 11 pages for someone to say it! :D
There's really not a hell of a lot you can do with this song...and apart from some of the really extreme mix offerings, it's why the majority of the 700+ submissions sound pretty much the same...and it's really no fault of the mixers, and maybe why some are opting to go extreme, just to give it some life.

OK...maybe I just shot myself in the foot AFA the contest... ;) ....and I'm still deciding if I even want to do a mix of the song.
It may end up being a last minute thing right before the contest ends, and I'll just go with whatever mood I'm in at that time. Kinda do it quickly without a lot of thinking about it, just let the tracks do their thing...and honestly, there's not much there to over-think with this song, so I'm kinda intrigued how much brain power some people are putting into it.