Put up some pics of your kit

What is it with limeys and Stagg cymbals? The only people I "know" that even talk about those things are online brits. They're rare over here and even if you do find one, they're cheap and trashy. Maybe yall get good ones or something and they don't export to the US.

IME, Stagg seem to make entry-level (and often low) quality stuff.
I would guess the cymbals are of a similar quality - cheap and nasty, but might be the sound you're looking for once in a while (however, I haven't seen or used any).
I'm no expert on what is a good or crummy brand of cymbal. The thing with the 5 cymbals I have is variation of sound. I'm not a drummer. It's other people that play them so I depend on their skills to coax appealing sounds out of them. I like all the sounds although thinking about it, I was initially underwhelmed by the sound of the 2 Staggs.

I had a kit for awhile that had 14-16" floor toms. It sucked. Your right, a 18" floor is like thunder of the gods! I'll never not use an 18 floor tom again.
My full kit is 10", 12" 14" rack toms and then 16" and 18" floor toms. I choose to play a 20" kick (I get plenty of punch out of it). Always a 14" snare (I just don't like piccolo snares). On my "club kit" I drop the 10" and the 18" toms and play a 5 piece kit and that's almost more than I need for those venues.

oops i meant:
IMG_0239.JPGIMG_0243.JPGIMG_0245.JPGIMG_0247.JPGIMG_0253.JPGIMG_0255.JPG

Mapex Meridian Birch kit I got around highschool graduation time last year.
Paiste PST3 set I've had since 2009. Along with a Zildjian splash that came with the set :confused:
It's always mic'd with a SM81 (purchased from moresound!) that surprisingly captures everything really well for moments of inspiration.

That black snare is a Tama Imperialstar that I got for my first kit after the metal snare that came with it crapped out.
I broke something on it, but I'm ready to get it fixed...anyone know what type of lug I need for the snare retainer?