Pro Tools noob question...

stepXinXtheXmix

Hey all. I am wondering about simultaneous track recording with the 003 products. Is there away to expand the number of inputs? For instance, say you're recording a full drum kit and you're wanting at least 11 mics on the kit, plus a scratch guitar or vocal. I know this may be a super simple question for most of you but, like the title says....I'm a noob to this.

The only way to expand the number of inputs for simultaneous recording is by using multiple interfaces. Each digi003 only has 8 analog inputs. You would have to add a second digi003 (which would give you a total of 16 inputs). Unfortunately, that would be the only way.

If you are using Pro Tools LE or M-Powered then you are out of luck and can only run 1 interface at a time. If you have PT HD then you can run whatever you want. If LE is your modus operandi then you are in for an expensive solution as you can only use Digidesign products. M-Powered uses M-Audio products as well and they make an 8 input firewire interface for $699.99 via Musician's Friend.

Not sure if that helped but I tried at least.

Well, plain and simple you need an interface with 8 inputs. On a side note be sure you are running firewire when recording 8 simultaneous inputs since USB 2.0 cannot handle that much information. There are interfaces with 8 inputs with USB but do not waste your time with these.

However, if you are running the 003 then you are more than likely running LE, correct? If that is the case then you still have to find a Digidesign interface with 8 mic inputs. Like I said before, Digidesign is not cheap but look at their website and then search elsewhere to find a slightly reduced cost product.

Hope that helps.