Analog or Digital?

My computer is now 6. It has many more years in it, and I make my living on a single PC for DAW, internet, etc.

And there is a free lunch. I sell mics to people who plug them straight into laptops and use Garage Band or Reaper or something cheap or free. They are capable of making better recordings with that gear than I was 11 years ago with an SM57 and a Tascam.

The saying, “There’s no such thing as a free lunch” is akin to “You get what you pay for.” And you do.

Funny, I make my living maintaining PCs and networks. Your 6-year-old problem-free PC is not typical. Many people don’t even realize the time and money they’ve put into a PC and it’s OS and program bugs and fixes. As usual I look at statistics, not exceptions. I can keep a PC running for many years, but there are component and software upgrades, as well as routine maintenance that every PC owner must deal with.

Bios upgrades, OS upgrades, software upgrades, RAM upgrades due to failure or just a need for more, hard drive upgrades due to failure or just a need for greater capacity, CPU upgrades due to failure or a need for greater speed… and do I really have to list Pro Tools versions and the bugs they fixed over the years. That goes for other manufacturers as well. In addition, all Microsoft bugs and fixes are DAW bugs and fixes if you have an MS OS.

Part of this whole process is separating the casual hobbyist from someone that wants to achieve excellence as a recording artist. There is plenty of room for everyone in these forums… hobbyists, collectors, experimenters; gear junkies that never really record, and people that are serious about music. I’m speaking to the latter.

So you can't make the argument that a DAW must be a standalone single-use PC, and you must replace that PC frequently. Both cannot be true.