When you record, is supposed to hear your voice in the headphones?!?!?

scdaymon

Hi guys!!!

Hi guys!!! ;)

This is indeed, a simples question: when you are recording your voice, is supposed to realtime ear the voice in your headphones? :confused:
Let me make it clear: I never recorded in a real studio. I’m an amateur musician and trying to be an amateur producer. When you are recording your voice, with the instrumental part playing in your headphones, sometimes when you sing (to the recording track) you don’t get the notion of how it sounds. I use only a earphone, so I can have a better sense of my voice. But I was thinking: maybe, in real studios, the singers also ear their voice when recording… like a Karaoke?

Can someone please advice me in this.

By the way: I have a Alesis io2 Express interface, a Shure sm58, and I use Mixcraft 5.

Ps: Sorry for the bad English… I’m Portuguese! :D

Yes, you should be able to hear your voice in the headphones. Each recorder is different but every one makes it possible to hear yourself as you sing or play. Sometimes people like to sing without hearing themself in the headphones.

Thanks for your quick answer “grimtraveller”!!!

Well, I have to discover how can I do that with Mixcraft (I mean, even that the voice will sound just clean – i.e. unproduced).
I suppose that my gear allows that.

Again, thank you for your attention…

Well, since grimtraveller kindly told me that usually in professional studios, singers real time hear what they sing, I began searching for the solution to do that in Mixcraft 5.
So it is indeed very easy. Allow me to share a tech answer I found in Mixcraft forum: