Need something to look for during Black Friday

EveTan

I'm fairly new to all of this. Been browsing the forums for about 1-2 hours now. Kinda lost at what I should be looking at. I just plan on recording vocals and letting a friend mix em for me. I was looking at the
Rode NT1A pack because it consisted of many of the "necessary" accessories. Then again, it is a condenser mic and and I need a "phantom power" source which I have no clue is about. I also stumbled upon the Shure 57/58 mics that are apparently "legendary"? So all in all, I basically want to buy some equipment on Black Friday but do not know where to start. I'm looking at an under 400 dollar price range. Sorry, if I had the time to read and explore more on the forums I would. But kinda getting rushed because I don't want to lose out on deals. Thanks!

Well I need a little more info. What kind of vocals? and what are you planning to record them into?

in both ways you need to get an audio interface. If you will buy Rode (or any other condenser mic) make sure the interface has phantom power (marked also as +48V) to power the microphone. Decent choice for starters would be for example M-Audio Fast track mk2.

And don't worry. 400 will cover you.
Most of the internet retailers I shop at dont really have black friday specials on items like that.
Just on strings and cables and such.

Yeah, like Seidy said, you'll definitely want to look into getting an interface. An interface is a device which serves as the connection between your computer and your mics. Phantom power is required by condensor mics to function. You can get this from pre amps, or an interface with a pre amp built into it. Since you only need to do vocals, you'll want to get something (interface) with one or two XLR inputs. Better to get two, you never know when you'll want to become a 'singer song writer acoustic ballad guy' in the future.