Best way to add bass

wooster

Hi. A total newbie to home recording here. I'm using Garageband but I'm struggling to find a way of adding bass - I don't have one. I tried recording my guitar and transposing the track down 12 semitones but it sounded really weird and swirly. It also affected the timing in some strange way

Is there another way or something I'm doing wrong? Should it be possible or do I need to suck it up and buy a bass?

Would using loops and transposing for chord changes work.

Sorry but I'm really new :)

If you're serious, suck it up and buy a bass. Oh, and get a real daw instead of grage band.
:D

Other than that there are probably lots of synth bass pgms that might work with garage band.

Or you could ask someone to play bass for you. Find a collaborator.

and yeah, don't use garageband. It's a toy.

Thanks guys. I'm just starting but if I bought something other than garageband would it allow me to add the bass? Any recommendations to look at? Maybe Logic?

I suggest looking at VSTi's or softsynths that have basses. Try this one....

E-MU Systems - Proteus VX

Logic would be a good choice to move up to from garageband. But there are many others, some free. Check out Reaper. Excellent demo license and great price when you decide to keep it.

Do you have an interface? We know you have an ipad. But any daw needs a way to input the musical source into the computer, hence an interface
Most interfaces come with some kind of daw program.

Hi. Thanks Logic appeals for the reasons you suggest, Chili. It's in my price range too. Proteus I'm not sure about what it does. Hmm. Lots to learn. But it doesn't seem to be available for Mac as far as I can make out.

I am using a mac with Focusrite 2i2 interface which came with a stripped down version of Ableton. I'm not sure it's worth learning as the Live software is out of my budget hence my Garageband use.

Ok, in your case logic is an excellent choice.
Also you can grow into it. Many pros use a mac and logic.