Tascam 388 insanely hot resistor help

Right, I'll ignore the M5L for the mo, the motor was intermittent, but reflowing seemed to stop that problem. I'll take one thing at I time it think! The bulbs, i threw the old ones, so no way to check :/ How do I work out the current draw? Keeping in mind that I'm a drummer...

I'll finish reflowing all the solder this week then take it from there. The row of transistors had definitely been worked on, hug blobs of solder. You could tell it wasn't factory. Can't take a pic as I've already reflowed it! Sorry man. Also when I was down in the transport area, internal screws were missing, it was kind of just floating there, so I'll sort that.

With regards to the transistors, if you think it would be wise to replace them, do you know what the modern day equivalent would be? Searched for the original but can't find them.

The stock lamps are likely 55mA. You said the ones you bought were 100mA right? Just add up the total mA of all the lamps stock and aftermarket.

Regarding the transistors, the 7805 is easy...that's a +5V linear power regulator. Just do a search for 7805 regulator at your fav electronics supply house. Very common part...readily available. The one you said is labeled "7820" are you sure that's not 7824? Either way, same deal as with the 7805. Readily available, but would be a +20V regulator for the 7820, and +24V for the 7824.

The 2SD313 and 2SB507 parts are complimentary NPN and PNP 60V 3A power transistors:

http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/107687/SANYO/2SD313/+007799VPvMZPcBVpvNC+/datasheet.pdf

I'll have to search for equivalents.

Ok, thanks Cory, I'll get some ordered. Definitely 7820, that's the one that looks like it's got a little hot over the years, don't know whether that's coincidental or not.

IMG_3595.JPG

Does anyone know where I can get more suitable bulbs in the UK? Went to buy the ones from JKL Components and the shipping is $50...

This might be of interest to you....Might not. :)