New PA system in church...Help me spend $10,000

crazydoc said:
And deepwater needs to know this so he can help thajeremy set up the new PA system?
If you were setting up a sound system for a club, wouldn't you want to know how many people were going to be in the audience? :cool: I suppose you could "wing it" but my experience in church applications is that those who "wing it" don't "fly" very far.
I know why you are jumping all over deepwater. :) In this case there is another reason. As a contractor, I wouldn't dare spec a system without seeing and hearing the place first. Any resulting sales would just be the natural result of doing a good job.
But for the most part, I'll let him hang himself.

crazydoc said:
And deepwater needs to know this so he can help thajeremy set up the new PA system?
Yep. Believe it or not, sound system installers down here in the south tend to think of church size in terms of members as much or more than the actual dimensions of the building. He needs to know how big the choir is too. All legitimate questions.

You're not turning into a "spam cop" too, are you doc? :confused:

boingoman said:
If you were setting up a sound system for a club, wouldn't you want to know how many people were going to be in the audience?
I admit to complete ignorance in setting up sound systems. I agree that knowing the number of bodies out there absorbing sound would be important regarding reverb damping types of things. If he meant "how many people are usually at a service?", that's appropriate, but may not have anything to do with the number of church members. :)

crazydoc said:
...If he meant "how many people are usually at a service?", that's appropriate, but may not have anything to do with the number of church members. :)
If you just went by how many people are usually at a service, you'd come up short on Christmas and Easter. ;)

Don't mic the guitars. Go DI on every thing you can.