Did you teach yourself how to play drums?

VirtualSamana

Does anyone know of a good website that has drum lessons? I am trying to teach myself how to play.

I can pound out a steady rock beat ( a simple one) but I don't know how to do rolls, rudiments, etc.

Has anyone else taught themselves to play? If so do you have any tips. (I took drum lessons for about a month so I have some basics down, later I moved too far from my teacher to continue and now I am too broke to continue lessons)

play, play, and play some more....:D

get a book or rudiments and a practice pad/snare drum....practice, practice, build up some speed.

play your kit along to records, play music with your friends....

and check out the following website:

http://drumbum.com/lessons/

an amazing collection of links to drum lessons....

I'm just about 100% self-taught (I have a few friends that are very good drummers that have taught me a thing or two)...lessons definitely are not a bad thing, though (I just never had the money!)....though I'm actually looking into taking some lessons now!:cool:

the only way to do it is paly... especially with other musicians, even other drummers, doing call and return type stuff... make it fun, dont beat yourself up over anything, its not a job.. yeah, just have fun

if you are ever going to take lessons, make sure you like the drummers style etc. because 9/10 he will be imparting how "he" plays the drums, so it becomes difficult to learn your own style, and you could quite possibly pick up some of your instructors bad habits...

Great advice guys. Thanks. Have you found any specific books/videotapes helpful. I am having trouble figuring out where to go from here. I would like to play in the vain of the Beatles, Badfinger, Jelly Fish, etc. A book or videotape with specifics i.e. how to do a drum fill across the toms (which hand to lead with, when to hit the bass drum, should I hit the bass drum everytime I hit the crash etc.) would be a tremendous help.