Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: ZOOM R16 startup problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    ZOOM R16 startup problem

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi!
    I'm new in this forum and I hope that anyone can help me solve my problem.
    I have just got the hands on a zoom r16 recorder: Interface: Controller
    My problem is that when I power on it says: Loading project, Project saving, Goodbye see you, Please power off.
    While starting up the usb port light lights up.

    I have what I think is a valid sd card in, I have tryed several with the same result.

    Using it as a soundcard/sd reader and controller works fine but not the actual recorder thing...

    I can only use it with batteries since the power supply is gone if that may be the problem... far fetch? yeah I know ...
    Is there any other way to do a hardware reset other than holding the clean button while powering on (which does not work)

    Best regards PowerTrace
    Last edited by powertrace; 03-27-2020 at 00:43. Reason: Solved

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Derby City
    Posts
    1,188
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 214 Times in 199 Posts
    Rep Power
    812438
    The only hard reset is the CLEAR/POWER ON reset process. That clears everything from memory and put the machine at default setting. I've never had an issue with any SD card with my Zooms, and I've used lots of different ones, including some "off branded" ones .

    Its strange that it works as an interface but not as a recorder. That would seem to indicate an issue with power. Are you using new batteries? The power supply is a basic 5V 1A center positive unit. You can buy replacements for about $10 online. I think its the same unit as the H4N.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I got it to work. I replaced the rechargeable batteries to normal batteries. They may not been fully loaded. I think there was a menu on what battery type used so that may be something too...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Derby City
    Posts
    1,188
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 214 Times in 199 Posts
    Rep Power
    812438
    Yes, there is an option in the setup for what type of battery you have. I rarely use batteries in my R24 for recording. It gets expensive if you spend any time recording, however I try to keep them in there to keep the clock correct.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. problem with zoom r16
    By delay in forum Zoom Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2019, 09:47
  2. Protools LE 7 startup problem
    By magnetic in forum Pro Tools Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-19-2013, 11:19
  3. Annoying startup problem
    By HomeNoiseRecord in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-2010, 07:54
  4. Problem with Zoom MRS-4
    By Giles in forum Newbies
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-23-2004, 06:18
  5. startup problem
    By Rocknwolf in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-21-2003, 13:29

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •