Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: zoom 4hn plus jvc everio digi cam ( your views please )

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    zoom 4hn plus jvc everio digi cam ( your views please )

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi all , I have purchased a zoom 4hn and i have a jvc everio digi cam,
    Im hoping the Zoom will save me having to work out my Daw to do the audio,
    and im planning to do visual on my digi cam,
    does any one else use this option ?
    im hoping it works out well as im just starting out ,,

    its crazy ive played guitar for 35 years and never recorded myself ,
    Which is a bit of a waste ,,
    i can play well im just not tech minded ,, ive bought various 4 track recorders over the years and just sold them as couldnt get on with them ..
    i think ive just started to understand the tech side a bit and hoping to get a few tunes down,,
    thanks for taking time to read

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Derby City
    Posts
    1,188
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 214 Times in 199 Posts
    Rep Power
    812438
    I dont know the DigiCam, but I have used my H4n to feed audio to Sanyo HD2000. It was definitely an improvement over the internal cam's mic, but is a bit complicated to get all set up. Instead, I've done the video on the Sanyo, and then used my H4n or now my R24 to record the audio which I add to the video in PowerDirector 15.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    8,361
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 598 Times in 553 Posts
    Rep Power
    14820464
    I do lots of live concert videos using a Zoom H5 to capture audio*. It's about a billion times better than the onboard audio of the typical camcorder. It does take a little work to get the audio synced to the video in post.

    *Generally a combination of the onboard mic plus a feed from the house system.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    2,605
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 480 Times in 443 Posts
    Rep Power
    2316392
    It would be easier to reply if you describe exactly what you mean by the "zoom plus jvc" part.

    If you mean to plug the H4n into a camcorder microphone input, that will require either the camera to have a menu setting to change the mic input to expect a LINE level signal, or you'll have to dial the output of the Zoom *way* down, as it's much too high for anything expecting a microphone level signal. Microphone input, if one, on consumer camcorders generally expects a stereo electret/condenser type external microphone. (I don't know the model JVC you have, and if it does not have a mic input, never mind!)

    If you plan to record the audio separately and sync, as @bouldersoundguy (and others) do, I can tell you that can be a little fiddly for someone "not tech minded" though it's not an impossible task, of course.
    "... I know in the mornin' that it's gonna be good
    when I stick out my elbows and they don't bump wood." - Bill Kirchen

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can Digi 002 rack be adat'd to Digi 002 console?
    By Redendever in forum The Rack
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2008, 21:21
  2. Digi Rack and Mackie Control or Digi 002
    By maddrummer in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-24-2003, 00:13
  3. Views on Digidesigns Digi 001
    By Lun in forum Gear Reviews & Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-02-1999, 00:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •