Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Two drum pads not working on my Zoom R8

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Two drum pads not working on my Zoom R8

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I’m fairly new to the R8 but have been able to get some work done on it OK. Earlier this year though, I suddenly could not get the kick and snare drum pads to give me anything other than a barely audible signal. All other pads work fine. I back-burnered the project then, unfortunately, and it’s probably out of warranty now. But I was exploring it further tonight and found that those drum pads seem to work fine when I switch to Bank 2 — the particular selected kit doesn’t seem to matter — but then the Closed Hat pad is barely audible, just like the other two pads were in Bank 1. I’ve also played with the Level adjustments and that seems to have no effect in increasing the volume on the suspect pads.
    Any ideas on this are welcome. I love the unit and it’s perfect for me otherwise, but without the snare and kick-drum pads working, it’s pretty severely compromised, obviously. Thanks in advance for any help! - Sean
    Last edited by EssEll; 12-25-2019 at 21:34.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ranelagh Tasmania
    Age
    69
    Posts
    8,742
    Thanks
    248
    Thanked 806 Times in 671 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474860
    My guess is that somehow you have managed to change output levels on a couple of pads.

    If you can't figure out what you (or someone) did, maybe there is a factory reset that you can use to get back to the original settings.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to gecko zzed For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gecko zzed View Post
    My guess is that somehow you have managed to change output levels on a couple of pads. If you can't figure out what you (or someone) did, maybe there is a factory reset that you can use to get back to the original settings.
    An excellent idea, but I see no way to do any kind of re-set mentioned in the manual. Thanks though!

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well this was an easy fix. Not that I would have know why the problem arose to begin with, but a simple update of the Zoom R8 firmware, from 1.00 to 1.02, has apparently solved the problem. Sweetwater tech suggested we start there and I’m happy to report the results. Hopefully this might help someone else out with a similar problem. Updated firmware is probably always a good idea!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. drum machines: zoom rt-223 vs. zoom mrt3b
    By kensington in forum Gear Reviews & Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-13-2016, 12:02
  2. Good drum pads for creating realistic drum track?
    By keithpurtell in forum MIDI Mania
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-11-2013, 12:09
  3. Drum pads
    By steelyd in forum Roland, Boss, VS Series Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2005, 00:15
  4. Midi controller, drum pads or drum machine?
    By Paul881 in forum Drums and Percussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-28-2002, 08:54
  5. Do you need drum pads?
    By Krystof01 in forum Drums and Percussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-14-2001, 20:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •