Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: file access error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    file access error

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I had an r16 for 9 years before I had to get a new one. Now all of a sudden I'm starting to get "file access errors messages occasionally and I can't complete that recording because it won't let me that file past the error message. Manual says to exit, which I did, no good. Turned off power and turned back on. All tracks are saved to that point, but I just can't go further. I was really tempted to get an aural interface and DAW like most of the rest of the world, but I didnt' want to lose all of those files i had on the SD cards, etc. By the way I also tried deleting files to give more space to no avail. any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ranelagh Tasmania
    Age
    69
    Posts
    8,742
    Thanks
    248
    Thanked 806 Times in 671 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474860
    Were I to be in your shoes, I would try to get the files off the SD card and onto a computer. I would then reformat the SD card.

    If you are successful in getting the files off, you could then work with them on the computer, or try to get them back on the card after reformatting it, or onto a new card altogether. If that doesn't work, you still have them on comnputer
    Last edited by gecko zzed; 08-18-2020 at 15:56.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Derby City
    Posts
    1,188
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 214 Times in 199 Posts
    Rep Power
    812438
    RKirk,

    You shouldn't lose the files on the SD card. They are standard WAVE files. I've got an R24, and I just pull the SD card, shove it into the slot on my computer and copy them to the hard drive for safe keeping.

    I would buy a new SD card (you can get them for $10 or less) and see if you still get a glitch. I keep a half dozen or so at all times. It may be that something got glitched on the card you have. It just takes one bad bit to screw things up. You should also be able to start a new project, and import the old WAVE files into the new project on a new card. You would lose any effects you might have used but the audio would still be there.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    file error

    Quote Originally Posted by TalismanRich View Post
    RKirk,

    You shouldn't lose the files on the SD card. They are standard WAVE files. I've got an R24, and I just pull the SD card, shove it into the slot on my computer and copy them to the hard drive for safe keeping.

    I would buy a new SD card (you can get them for $10 or less) and see if you still get a glitch. I keep a half dozen or so at all times. It may be that something got glitched on the card you have. It just takes one bad bit to screw things up. You should also be able to start a new project, and import the old WAVE files into the new project on a new card. You would lose any effects you might have used but the audio would still be there.
    Well, heres the deal. My older laptop doesn't have a place for a SD card. Believe it or not all these years I never formatted any of them as such- (from now on I will for new cards). I have several with dozens of files. Only once did one become corrupted, those files are gone. I could try to send them to computer.=but I only know Audacity, in which I EQ, compress, etc, but I have never been able to open those individual tracks just the final mix from R16.Because I only have so much memory, I always have just saved the final mixes on Windows Media Player, from which I have either burned CD's or sent out mp3s to whomever. So that;s where Im at now. hope that's clear. I haven't tried to record anything else on this SD card, but obviously if I reformat that I lose all so thats not gonna happen. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Derby City
    Posts
    1,188
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 214 Times in 199 Posts
    Rep Power
    812438
    You should be able to see the raw files under the project audio folder. It will look like the directory below. In this case, I have 8 channels of audio, which are labeled MONO-001 to MONO-007.WAV.

    As for not having a slot for the SD card, you can get card readers at any office supply store, or Amazon for $15-20. All you need is a USB port.

    I would also suggest you look at Reaper in place of Audacity. Its far more capable. Audacity is great for quick and dirty changes, but as a multitrack workstation, its bare bones.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TalismanRich View Post
    You should be able to see the raw files under the project audio folder. It will look like the directory below. In this case, I have 8 channels of audio, which are labeled MONO-001 to MONO-007.WAV.

    As for not having a slot for the SD card, you can get card readers at any office supply store, or Amazon for $15-20. All you need is a USB port.

    I would also suggest you look at Reaper in place of Audacity. Its far more capable. Audacity is great for quick and dirty changes, but as a multitrack workstation, its bare bones.
    I am familiar with the solo files, but I've never been able to see them all at the same time or save them, but anyway I will get a SD card reader here soon. Funny you should mention Reaper. I downloaded it recently and have been trying to figure it out. Sometimes I get an ASIO error msg, but even when I dont', I don't know how to actually get the tracks on Reaper, can't play or record. I did for sure load the latest zoom driver. on audacity I open the F drive, but I dont see that. Nor can I figure out how to get the track play/ rec buttons to function on the R16 to work. Sorry to drag you into this area.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Derby City
    Posts
    1,188
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 214 Times in 199 Posts
    Rep Power
    812438
    I don't even bother plugging the R24 into the computer. No drivers or anything like that. I am working on a laptop right now that doesn't have ASIO or anything. But I can plug in my headphones, fire up Reaper, and just grab a dozen audio files to drop into Reaper. It will ask if you want them on separate tracks, say yes, and you've got a nice multitrack setup. That way I don't have to fool around with the Zoom after I've done the recording unless I want to. Its really just a drag and drop system. For me its perfect.

    There are some people here who use the Zoom as a control interface. About the only thing that I would want that for would be to have physical faders. So far, I've done without.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TalismanRich View Post
    I don't even bother plugging the R24 into the computer. No drivers or anything like that. I am working on a laptop right now that doesn't have ASIO or anything. But I can plug in my headphones, fire up Reaper, and just grab a dozen audio files to drop into Reaper. It will ask if you want them on separate tracks, say yes, and you've got a nice multitrack setup. That way I don't have to fool around with the Zoom after I've done the recording unless I want to. Its really just a drag and drop system. For me its perfect.

    There are some people here who use the Zoom as a control interface. About the only thing that I would want that for would be to have physical faders. So far, I've done without.
    I see how you mean.
    ok so I bought a card reader, put in a card, it shows up on F drive as in Audacity, (this is on Reaper, ) I click on a project, it then goes to Audio, but when I click on that it says no items match your search. Am I missing something here?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ranelagh Tasmania
    Age
    69
    Posts
    8,742
    Thanks
    248
    Thanked 806 Times in 671 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474860
    Quote Originally Posted by rkirk View Post
    .
    ok so I bought a card reader, put in a card, it shows up on F drive as in Audacity, (this is on Reaper, ) I click on a project, it then goes to Audio, but when I click on that it says no items match your search. Am I missing something here?
    I don't know if you are missing something, but I am.

    "I bought a card readreader, put in a card, it shows up on F drive as in Audacity," . . . that make sense.

    "(this is on Reaper)" What is on Reaper. I didn't understand that. Are you in Audacity or Reaper?

    "I click on a project" What and where is this project? Your verbal shorthand is very difficult for me to understand.

    So, if you have bought a card reader, inserted a card and it showsd up as F drive, you should be able to double click on that and see the contents of that F drive. And, with luck, you should be able to see WAV files that you have previously recorded. If so, you are lucky.

    You can then fire up Reaper, click on "Insert" then "Media file", navigate to the F drive and select the files you want, and they will load into Reaper.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Derby City
    Posts
    1,188
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 214 Times in 199 Posts
    Rep Power
    812438
    Just open your File Explorer and navigate to the directory.

    Follow the path that is in my directory above...
    SD card (in my case ZoomR24)
    Project
    PRJOOO (or PRJ001, PRJ002, whatever you named it)
    AUDIO

    In that directory, you will see any WAVE files you have recorded in the project. Each project has its own set of wave files. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you just copy that ENTIRE directory to your hard drive because Reaper will create a series of files called "REPEAKS". These are nothing but the visual representation of each track's wave form. You don't want to be writing the Repeak files to your SD card.

    Now, just highlight the WAV files and drag them to the track area of Reaper. It will look something like this. You can hit the play button and it should start playing the tracks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Dp-24 file error/card error
    By TECHNINOT in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-06-2015, 09:10
  2. File not found error message
    By needledrop in forum Emagic / Logic Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2007, 19:26
  3. Error opening .cpr file!!!
    By studiomaster in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-29-2006, 11:36
  4. File error 0d c
    By cellardweller in forum Fostex Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-23-2003, 14:58
  5. MR-8 File Error 0D
    By mrx in forum Fostex Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-14-2003, 15:35

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •