US-144 too old?

stratovani

Newbie here. I'm trying to get into the wonderful world of home recording. I'm using Studio One for my DAW, and I have an older Tascam US-144 interface. So far my attempts to record my bass have been a failure. Studio One recognizes the US-144, but it seems like nothing is getting through to the computer, which is a year-old Dell running Windows 10. My question is this - is the US-144 too old to be used in home recording anymore? I don't really see why it should be, after all it's just an interface. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Hi stratovani......and welcome. If win10 and Studio One are recognizing the Tascam........it's not likely too old to work for you. It sounds like you may not be setting up Studio One to see or record the input from the Tascam. Do you have the operator manual for the Tascam and Studio One? I'd start there. Maybe someone here is more familiar with your setup and can give you some tips.

it looks like the drivers for the US-144 are from 2010. There is a 64bit version, but maybe it won't work with Win10. You can try loading the drivers in compatibility mode.

I agree with Mickster. The 64bit driver for Win7 should also work in Win 10. If not, you could try ASIO4ALL, but I would do that as a last resort.

Much more likely that its a routing issue somewhere. Are you using the right channel input and have it set to Guitar? That sets it as an unbalanced input, otherwise it operates as a balanced TRS input. (I'm assuming you are trying to run direct in to the interface, not micing your bass cabinet.) I don't use Studio One, so I can't comment on how to set up the input routing.

I've got a sneaky suspicion that the US-144 has seen better days. I have an older computer which is still functional and runs Win7. I'm going to try it on that tomorrow, and we'll see what happens.