Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tascam US 16x08 Issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Tascam US 16x08 Issue

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi:
    Hi:
    I just bought a brand new Toshiba Lap top computer to use in recording at home. I am using Sony Acid Music 9.0 as the software, and the interface box is Tascam US 16x08. I first downloaded the Tascam driver from TEAC-global online and installed. Even so, at this point I am not sure that whatever is to be downloaded is fully successful but my computer can show the US 16x08 Settings Panel on the monitor. I next installed Sony Acid Music 9.0 using the disc. What another guy taught me earlier was that if I turn the 16 x 08 interface box on when it is connected to the computer via a USB cable, and I also open the Acid Music software, I should do the following:
    File>New, then enter title artist, engineer. etc and where to save the music.
    CTRL Q to get a track.
    Options> Preferences>Audio Device
    This will give me a page in which I can get to the "Audio Device Type" Field which should give me a drop-down menu.
    From the menu I should be able to select 16 x 08, then click "Apply" then "OK".
    The trouble is, I cannot find 16x08 in the Audio Device Type, drop-down menu. I only see Microsoft Mapper (which is the default) and "Windows Classic Wave Driver".
    So I cannot assign any track from the interface box to the Acid Music Software, since the software and the interface box seem to be disconnected.
    Truth be told, I do not know how to use the 16 x 08 settings panel. But in the past (with another computer) following the same steps I was able to get another interface box which I was using (US-1641) to show up on the "Audio Device Type" drop down menu so that I could choose it for my recording.
    What if any, am I doing wrong this time?
    Thanks,
    Patrick
    P.S. I followed these steps on a Lenovo lap top and was successful in accessing 16 x 08 on the Acid Music software. The only reason that I did not want to use the Lenovo was that the screen was too small (only 14 inches diagonal). The present lap top has a 17 in screen and I prefer that but......I cannot find 16 x 08 on the Sony software.

    Thanks,
    Patrick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    alabama
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 42 Times in 39 Posts
    Rep Power
    2511840
    is the OS the same on both laptops? sounds like the drivers for the Tascam may not be installed. if you boot up the laptop. then connect the Tascam, does it find the drivers?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I am sorry for my lack of knowledge, but what is "OS"?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    alabama
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 42 Times in 39 Posts
    Rep Power
    2511840
    sorry, operating system such as Windows.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Age
    50
    Posts
    19,574
    Thanks
    984
    Thanked 728 Times in 652 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474864
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick108 View Post
    I am sorry for my lack of knowledge, but what is "OS"?
    What version of Windows ('O'perating 'S'ystem). You may need to download different drivers for the TASCAM necessary for a different OS.
    PC Win7-64-24G i7-4790k/Cubase 9 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7x/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne 4 Studio/Other things that don't mean anything if a client shows up not knowing what it wants.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks. The OS for my Lenovo lap top is Windows 7, and the new Toshiba lap top which gave me difficulty and prompted me to ask for help hear has Windows 10 operating system. In case the driver was not downloaded properly, would it be a good idea to copy the driver info from the Lenovo onto a USB stick and try opening it and installing it on the Toshiba? If so how do I go about it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    To continue my question, I mean how do I find the 16 x 08 driver information from my Lenovo lap top?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    alabama
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 42 Times in 39 Posts
    Rep Power
    2511840
    I dont think you can just copy the drivers, you will have to find a driver compatible with windows 10, I suspect that is the issue. Did you install the same driver package on the Windows 7 laptop as on the Windows 10 laptop? if so you already have the same drivers. Windows 10 is causing problems for some people. you may want to call Tascam support.maybe they have a suggestion.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Age
    50
    Posts
    19,574
    Thanks
    984
    Thanked 728 Times in 652 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474864
    First thing I would do is: With the new Toshiba, download and install this 'Windows 10 compatible' US-16x8 (V.1.04 driver for Windows) from HERE.

    Make sure to follow the instructions for the install. I am not sure whether you need to have the interface plugged in while installing or after.

    If that does not work then contact Tascam support.
    PC Win7-64-24G i7-4790k/Cubase 9 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7x/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne 4 Studio/Other things that don't mean anything if a client shows up not knowing what it wants.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to jimmys69 For This Useful Post:


  11. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I CANNOT THANK YOU ENOUGH!!!! FINALLY, FINALLY, WITH YOUR HELP AND THE OWNER'S MANUAL FOR THE TASCAM 16X08 PC INTERFACE (which indicated that I was not doing anything wrong, but that I had to try other USB ports on my computer) THE SONY SOFTWARE AND THE INTERFACE BOX FOUND EACH OTHER, AND NOW I CAN RECORD. YOU GUYS ARE INDISPENSABLE!!!!! THANK YOU SOOOOOOOO MUCH.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Tascam US 16x08 Mix-Minus?
    By Chris McDaniel in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-14-2015, 06:45
  2. Deal Alert - $199 Tascam US-16x08
    By dudernut in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2015, 09:24
  3. Tascam 16x08/Mixcraft 6 issues
    By EditTheSadParts in forum Newbies
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-01-2015, 07:45
  4. TASCAM US-16x08 set up issues
    By reeldeel56 in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2015, 11:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •