Tascam M-35 Help please

Blackdog.sn

Hey,

Hey I just got a Tascam M-35 and am having trouble getting a level. I plug the mic into the input and bus it to one of the subgroups, but i have to turn both the input volume and bus volume full to get see anything register on the VU meter. I also tried using headphones to monitor the what was coming in, but I can't hear anything from the headphones. I have access send and receive connected together.

Any suggestions,
Sam

First, you got an awesome deal!

I'm not sure if there's enough detail to help you, but I'll think about it & reply more later.

Attachments

• Tascam M35j.jpg
    Tascam M35j.jpg
    21.6 KB · Views: 132
I'm not sure if the jumper on channel 5 looks like it's connected right!

..............;)

Attachments

• Tascam M35k.jpg
    Tascam M35k.jpg
    16.2 KB · Views: 124
yeah i checked the jumpers and theyre all in. I get a very little signal but only when the volumes are up all the way

edit: I am very new to mixing and the like, so maybe if someone could give me a step by step to testing the mixer to see if it works properly?

Last edited:
The first thing that occurred to me,...

is what mic are you using? By chance, are you using a mic that requires phantom power? I think it would pay to verify the mic source, before going on to patches and settings.

A dynamic mic, or battery-powered electret condensor mic would be fine, but if the mic needs external phantom power,... the M-35 doesn't supply it.

Start at the basics,... then up from there. ;)

Its an old Sure mic from the 70's...The thing is it work well in amps, but not in the mixer. Is there anything else i could use to test the input...like a CD player or something?

Also ensure that PAD switch is set to 0 (zero). Any other setting will reduce the Mic's output dramatically unless you are recording a very loud source like a drum set or loud guitar or bass cabinet.

Cheers! :)

Plug the mic into input/channel #1.