Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Tascam DR-70D Not Maintaining Audio Sync With Video

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Tascam DR-70D Not Maintaining Audio Sync With Video

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi
    I am a professional cameraman, now exploring the video capability of my Sony A7S (shoots awesome video). I am having problems trying to sync up the audio recorded on a Tascam DR-70D with the video from my Sony. I can quite easily sync up the tascam audio at any point but it drifts quite quickly and becomes out of sync.
    Subject and microphone about 3 metres away from the camera/tascam. Audio from the Tascam also sent to the camera as a guide track. Audio on camera actually sounds OK and is of course in sync.
    There was 1 mono track dual recorded on the Tascam.
    Any ideas where to start?

    Well one week without any responses, that's a little disappointing.
    Luckily I have discovered a few things myself.. The problem with the audio recorded on the tascam NOT maintaining sync only seems to happen when dual recording is enabled. This could well be a bug. I have contacted tascam, alas no reply..
    They are not great at customer support it would seem..
    Last edited by ozzyeye; 10-06-2016 at 05:32. Reason: new information

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Branson. Mo.
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Explain dual recording. Are you using a video editing program to combine A with V?

    I use a DR-07 with a Sony NEX3 edited with Kdenlive, works perfect.

    EDIT: I confused 70 and 07 I can't help but interested in the solution
    Last edited by gomanvangough; 10-10-2016 at 14:19.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    14,405
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 609 Times in 556 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474864
    A couple of thoughts.

    Be sure your audio sample rates are matched if you use the camera's audio to sync up to the remote audio.

    When editing, you may have to cut and move the audio around to maintain sync if the audio rates don't match.

    What are you previewing the external audio and video with? If you are using a video editor and adding effects/processing and maybe your computer is not up to the task, you could see sync issues in realtime preview. Have you tried rendering the video then checking sync?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How to capture video and sync with audio
    By creation25 in forum Music Video Production
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-01-2013, 20:01
  2. Audio and Video Sync Question
    By So-Na-Ta in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-20-2011, 08:30
  3. Fixing bad audio/video sync?
    By Shadowrunner in forum Cool Edit Pro / Adobe Audition Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-20-2007, 06:43
  4. sync video audio
    By jmorris in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-23-2007, 14:32
  5. sync video with audio
    By A1A2 in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-02-2003, 09:50

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •