Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: TASCAM DP24 (Original)...UNDO BUTTON NOT WORKING

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
    Rep Power
    440823

    TASCAM DP24 (Original)...UNDO BUTTON NOT WORKING

    Sign in to disable this ad
    So a few channels are sketchy and recording lights stick but the unit is workable ...UNTIL NOW

    NO UNDO...

    That means my playing chops have to be like perfect...The recording process is now WAYYYYYYY more pressure filled...

    All I can think of is a FACTORY RESET or INITIALIZE...But in the middle of a project

    Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,301
    Thanks
    343
    Thanked 156 Times in 145 Posts
    Rep Power
    3037326
    I used to use a DP24 and I still have it but I stopped using it when buttons began to work unreliably. Yours seems to be doing the same thing. You could remove the SD card and copy that to a pc as a backup. Then...you could try the factory initialize / reset. The only other thing I can think of is to go to preferences and see what you undo preference is set to. If it's set to one.....try setting it higher.

    Good luck.
    Just A Song Writer..........

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Age
    19
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Rep Power
    20
    Assuming you are running the most current firmware and are using a *Tascam approved* SD card (if not - do that first!) - you can certainly try doing a factory reset.

    Simply move your song files (found in the "MUSIC" folder of the Tascam directory) to a safe parking spot (a folder on a computer), initialize, and reload your tunage back to the MUSIC folder.

    Regarding the UNDO feature - there are two setting for this which can be toggled in the Preferences menu. One is for a single level of Undo, and the other is for 10 levels of Undo (if I remember correctly).

    Regarding your buttons... the machine is not simple and easy to take apart (I've been told - have not attempted that as I have not had a reason to after 5 years). But carefully shooting a little Deoxit D5 in/around the problem buttons seems to be a productive fix - as reported by many users.

    For the best database and support for these machines - go here: 2488 and DP-24/32 Digital Portastudios | TASCAM Forums

    Hope this helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
    Rep Power
    440823
    Quote Originally Posted by Mickster View Post
    I used to use a DP24 and I still have it but I stopped using it when buttons began to work unreliably. Yours seems to be doing the same thing. You could remove the SD card and copy that to a pc as a backup. Then...you could try the factory initialize / reset. The only other thing I can think of is to go to preferences and see what you undo preference is set to. If it's set to one.....try setting it higher.

    Good luck.
    Yes I had checked preferences before and it was 10.

    ...SO the weirdest thing just happened...I was gonna factory reset & download latest OS (Don't ask...Probably 3 years old OS, thx for the reminder...LOL)
    & the darn thing works now....Works after a week of nothing, I threaten action against the machine & she decides to work...

    Still gonna do the update...thx guys

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to SteveAlton For This Useful Post:


  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Derby City
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 158 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    503215
    Funny that you mentioned having things start working. I have an old Yamaha AW16G that went through a flooded basement about 15 years ago. Its working now, but the other day, for some reason, channel 7 wouldn't play anything. There was a track there but I couldn't get any sound. I figured I would have to disassemble it and clean the faders, so I turned it off to come back the next day. PRESTO! Channel 7 is working fine.

    I attribute it to Gremlins! It did start working when the sunlight was shining through the window.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    A lot of buttons on my dp32 midi stopped functioning even after replacing them ...at which point I gave up ...on reflection I suspect a faulty ribbon cable might be the problem but the unit is a total mare to open up again to find out.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Tascam DP24
    By bussongs in forum Gear Reviews & Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2016, 17:57
  2. New Tascam DP24
    By cwhowell2 in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2015, 05:52
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2014, 08:47
  4. Tascam 414 fast forward button triggering play button/stuck
    By bearhead in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-31-2013, 12:22
  5. TASCAM 424 MKII Problem...RTZ button not working...=/
    By Joshua J. in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-25-2008, 22:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •