Tascam 4308 Belt Locations

WHTLVR

I just acquired a Tascam 4308. No motion on the reels when I pressed play. I opened it up to check the belts, and found a load of black goo, and no belts. My instinct says its ectoplasm and the thing is haunted. However I cleaned the goo up a bit and realised that there were no belts anywhere. Does anyone know where the belts should be running from or to? Full disclosure: I wouldn't know a flywheel from a fidget spinner so I will post a picture, and maybe one of you amazing people might be able to draw in MSPaint where the belts should be. Either that or I'll have to call a priest and arrange an exorcism. Thank you in advance. Hoping to get this beauty going. So much goo though...

Not allowed to post link to photo as I'm a newbie. Msg me for photo I guess

DM me for photo I guess. Cant figure out how to upload one on my phone.

That's becoming a very common occurrence these days. I recently opened my Harmon Kardon cassette deck after it sat for about 3 or 4 years unused. It wouldn't rewind but would FF and play. I found a black blob where the rewind belt used to be.

Its a major pain to pull the drive unit out and put a new belt in, so for now, it plays and if I need to rewind, I flip the tape and FF.

Best of luck.

Worry not. The Capstan belt is threaded like all A series tape decks. It goes on the smaller diameter pulley at the front of the capstan motor then down and around the flywheel and that is it. make sure not to wrap the belt around the hex standoff as that would be wrong. The smaller pulley position is for 60Hz if you are in 50 Hz then the larger position would be correct.