Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Tascam 16x8 records on all channels the mic input on channel 1 !!??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Tascam 16x8 records on all channels the mic input on channel 1 !!??

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Up to date drivers firmware and latest reaper version
    With enabled inputs first 1 in 1 last 8 in 8
    channel 1 shows a check mark in channel one in mono the remaining channels present without a check mark
    channel 2 shows a check mark in channel one in mono the remaining " " " " " "
    channel 3 shows a check mark in channel one in mono also same as above
    and so forth
    BUT RECORDS THE MIC INPUT OF CHANNEL ONE IN ALL 8 CHANNELS !!!??
    With enabled inputs first 2 in 2 last 8 in 8
    Channel 1 shows a check on channel 2 no check on the remaining 8 but channel 1 does not appear
    channel 2 shows a check on channel 2 no check on the remaining 8 and channel one does not appear
    similar for the remaining 3 thru 8 channels
    BUT RECORDS THE MIC INPUT OF CHANNEL 2 IN ALL 8 CHANNELS INCLUDING CHANNEL 1
    This same pattern continues for enabling beginning with channel 3 and so forth to channel 8

    What else to try seems a software issue??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Derby City
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
    Rep Power
    24147
    I'll make the assumption that you have the mixer software installed and it is in interface mode, and that the mixer page shows analog 1-16.

    Are you properly setting the input for each channel in Reaper? You need to set the input for the channel you want to record. If you simply inserted 8 channels, and tried to set the input, it's possible all the channels were active when you set the record input (it happened to me).

    Make sure you select each channel individually and assign the input to the corresponding input of the Tascam.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TalismanRich View Post
    I'll make the assumption that you have the mixer software installed and it is in interface mode, and that the mixer page shows analog 1-16.

    Are you properly setting the input for each channel in Reaper? You need to set the input for the channel you want to record. If you simply inserted 8 channels, and tried to set the input, it's possible all the channels were active when you set the record input (it happened to me).

    Make sure you select each channel individually and assign the input to the corresponding input of the Tascam.
    Yep that was the problem I needed to assign each channel into reaper for them to be separated and recognized. I just had downloaded and started using reaper. Interesting that the firmware listed in the initial setting panel persists being version 1 when I have downloaded firmware version 2 twice.

    Really apreciate your advice you solved the problem...Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Derby City
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
    Rep Power
    24147
    Excellent! I hope we hear some of your recordings in the future.

    RE: the firmware settings, Sorry I can't help you with that one. My 16x08 came with v2 firmware. Does it go through the whole process for the update? Have you posted on the Tascam forum to see if others have had the same issue?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-24-2018, 18:39
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2018, 15:29
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-25-2015, 08:46
  4. Tascam M-35 Input Channel Strip
    By rickb in forum Analog Recording & Mixing - Tape & Gear
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-17-2007, 10:12
  5. WTB: Tascam 388 Input Channel Card
    By thegunshyboy in forum Free Ads for Music/Recording Equipment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-01-2007, 10:06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •