rackmount multitracks - help

BUCAgator

i am in the market for a rackmounted multitrack to record our mobile church services. i have NO experience with recording, so i have come to you for help. i have looked at the DA line but don't really understand the difference between the 38, 78, and 88. i have also found access to either a 234 or 238. i like the cassette idea but it appears that you are restricted in recording time. our services normally run 1-2 hours and i can't be available to change tapes at a moments notice. am i correct that you can get about 22 minutes on a 234 and 11 minutes on a 238 from a 90 minute cassette? if so, what is the time restrictions on the DA line? what about maintainance? i guess it costs about $600-800 to replace drums on the DA line. are parts available for the 234 and 238?

thanks in advance for your help. i know that newbie questions get old so your patience is appreciated. God bless.

:cool: Welcome BUCAgator!!;
The DA-series by Tascam 38,88,78 all have the same drive system, use the same type of tape DTRS, and the recording time is about 113 minutes of 8-trk recording. The sound quality is pretty much the same( excellent ! ). The DA88 was released after Alesis hit the market,Tascams answer to the competition.
The DA-88 has the ability to be used in movie/video production( timecodes). The DA38 is a musician friendly version of 88, same quality, but less expensive machine, fewer bells/whistles/etc.
I have a DA-38 and love it for remotes, use it with a small rackmount mixer......

Maintainance on DA's is fairly easy, manual covers this, DON'T over clean the heads with cassette type cleaners. The DA units are fairly reliable/rugged, and pretty darned easy to use......

Don't fool with cassette format for church services, unless you use a cassette deck to record the sermon, thats what I do........

Tascam does not make tape based 8-trk any more, Have looked into a 24 trk MDM?

If this doesn't help ask me ?'s I'll go deeper.........