Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Portastudio MF-P01 repair?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Portastudio MF-P01 repair?

    Sign in to disable this ad
    My MF-P01 isn't recording to tape. I have lights on my input indicator, so I'm getting input. Then, when I play back the tape, nothing has actually recorded. Is this a common, fixable problem?
    I love this machine and it would be great to get it working again.
    Thank you for your time.

    -Strangefella

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm pretty new at this stuff, but one thing I would check is if there is actually sound being recorded onto the tape.
    Do you have another cassette player? If so, you can play your 'recorded' cassette on that to see if you're definitively recording audio on the Portastudio. If you are, then it's an output issue, I think. It sounds like you're not seeing any lights in the meters during playback.

    In that case, it could be blown capacitors, which I think is a common issue.
    How common? I'm dealing with one right now, in a Porta02mkII.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for your response! It does seem to be a playback issue. My MF-P01 won't play any tapes at all. Blown capacitors, huh? Are there any plans/schematics or videos that will help with this? I do have basic soldering skills, I'll just need to know what parts to order.
    Thanks again!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This is awesome. Thank you!
    This repair just might be beyond my paygrade, but the caps should be cheap enough so there's not much risk in trying.
    Let me know if you get your Portastudio working again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    SOLVED

    The new capacitors did the trick and the MF-P01 is working again!

    Thanks for the help!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    That's awesome to hear, Strangefella.
    To update my situation...I never had to swap out the capacitors! Phew. I assume there was some weird power issue due to a funny power strip. Can that happen? No clue! But what happened was: other stuff in my room started acting funny right around the same time. So, while my Porta02mkII would turn on, it had trouble with tape speed and output. But that all magically went away when I swapped the power strip.

    I'm glad yours is back up and running!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. TEAC-144 portastudio repair project
    By Dr ZEE in forum Analog Recording & Mixing - Tape & Gear
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 04-20-2013, 19:11
  2. My old ( new ) Portastudio 244
    By Tape60 in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-25-2008, 16:04
  3. Yamaha MD8 repair will be expensive - repair or replace?
    By stodge in forum Gear Reviews & Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-07-2007, 18:01
  4. Portastudio 144 - repair or replace dilemma
    By doylekm in forum Analog Recording & Mixing - Tape & Gear
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-05-2005, 04:46
  5. Repair $ for Tascam Portastudio 488
    By jcbonz in forum Newbies
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2005, 10:04

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •