Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Portastudio 424 with a problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Portastudio 424 with a problem

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi everyone!
    I found this forum because I am experiencing a problem with my Tascam Portastudio 424. Please forgive me any mistakes in my English, for I live in the Netherlands and English is not my native language.
    My problem is this: when recording anything on my portastudio - for instance on track 1 and2, or on track 3 and 4 - the track indicators show that all is going well. Incoming levels seem to bee okay. But if I than play what I have just recorded, one track has a much lower output level than the other. Also the track indicators show different output levels.
    The recording and playing heads are clean as can be. Changing the input tracks does not help.
    Does anyone have an idea what can be wrong? My recorder is several years old and I suspect that the recording head is broken, or is slowly getting worse. But that's only my suspicion.
    I would like to know if anyone has experienced this problem before and if so, what was done to overcome the problem, before I take my recorder to a specialist and probably have to pay a lot of money.
    Hope to hear from you and many thanks beforehand.
    Greetings from Rotterdam, Netherlands.
    Hans Faaij.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denton, TX
    Age
    46
    Posts
    4,590
    Thanks
    122
    Thanked 212 Times in 191 Posts
    Rep Power
    4642456
    Hi, first off all, your English is excellent; you should be very proud.

    Secondly, I have had the exact same issue you're having on two different multi - track cassette recorders. I'll tell you exactly what I did to fix it each time.

    Open the recorder up (carefully, and unplug it first, obviously), and look for any wire connectors you can see. I'm taking about all the instances where there are several wires bundled together and attached with a plug-in connector.

    One by one (so you don't lose track of which goes where), unplug each connector, spray some contact cleaner in the plug (like Deoxit), and plug it back in several times. Do this with every connector you see.

    It's likely that one or more of them has some oxidizition built up from years of non-use.

    I like to use a little pair of needle-nose pliers when unplugging the connectors. Try to avoid tugging on the wires whenever you can. It's always best to pull by the connector.

    Good luck!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Portastudio 488 MKII Bus Problem
    By baremountain in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2015, 08:32
  2. Tascam Portastudio 424 MKI problem
    By MastahJames in forum Newbies
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2014, 06:48
  3. 464 portastudio problem
    By thefruitgnome in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-18-2011, 11:39
  4. Portastudio MF-P01 Playback Problem
    By maalsa in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-17-2010, 15:59
  5. Portastudio 424 overdubbing problem
    By f-holes in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 14:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •