Newbie question on 414 connections.

lady1001

Hi All,

I just bought an older 414 which does not have XLR connectons. I currently have all my mics plugged into a Mackie mixer. Here's the question. In the manual it states you can plug a mixer into the Sub inputs on the back of the 424 but that it goes directly to the master fader. It seems to me that this would bypass the tracks. Can I just hook the L and R main outs of the mixer to the track 1 and 2 inputs of the 414 or is this a problem? A second option is to go into tracks 5/6 and 7/8 but Im really sure how this works My idea is to just record tracks one and two with background and then go to three and four for the vocals. The only other option I can see is to buy 1/4 plugs for my mics and then go into the line inputs for the tracks. Bear with me guys, I'm just learning.

Thanks

I am better at asking questions than at answering, and I've only asked one! But here goes...

I think the signal from the channel inputs go through the strips to the master fader, so that you can EQ them and "pan" it to the desired buss. But your mixer has already done that for you, so you go from the Subs directly to the master fader, and on to whichever buss(es) is/are active. (be it L, R, or both for stereo)And then printed to tape. But this would seem to preclude the option of direct mode recording with your mixer while using the Sub inputs.

Is this true?

I have used a mixer and brought the signals (in stereo) on two channel strips with 1/4 in. jacks. As long as it's a line level output from the mixer, you should be OK.

Signal routing can be fun, and we can all benefit from the guys around here.

Thanks for the answer. I see what you are saying. I guess I will just plug the Mackie's left and right main outputs to channel strips 1 and 2 for the background and switch them over to 3 and 4 for the vocals.