My new (for me) toys

pwalters3

I am an old school Engineer who hasn't recorded a note in 25 years since I left the L.A. scene and that insanity of the late 80's. I got the itch to record again and am going old school with what I remember. I am building a fully analog studio and picked up an MSR-16 and a ATR-80. I know the MSR-16 has its detractors but I had a wonderful experience with it and it is what I remember. It's in immaculate shape came out of a home studio (owner passed) Been running perfectly and sounds great since we picked it up in December. The ATR-80 we just got and it's not in as good of shape as I was hoping for but that's what you get when you buy vintage gear. My biggest issues the lack of info on this deck online, that was something I was not expecting. I have been souring the internet looking for the manual first and then a parts source second. I have a line or two working right now for both but it has been the biggest unexpected issue so far. I was looking for an Otari but the ATR-80 came up and I jumped20190320_103517.jpg20190320_103907.jpg20190320_103517.jpg20190320_103907.jpg

I wish you well.

Like my kids hs teacher said - you can never go home again.

Old tape is not worth the effort.

I loved tape. Used it for 45 years.
But now it is all digital. More fun fewer hassles.

Do not put money into this you can not afford to lose.
And be flexible. When it does not bring back everything you remember and hope to recapture then
say good bye fondly and go digital.

Nah, Digital isn't for me. These analog decks will do what I want and it will be a blast doing it

You might still want a two channel interface for mix down if you ever want to distribute.

But that Tascam looks like a really nice piece of equipment.

Welcome.
To hell with the detractors. ;) The msr16 is a great machine. I've done countless recordings on it as well as doing 3 commercialy released albums.
Still have one and use it, but have incorporated protools also.