Mixdown Recorder

Troubadour

Hello,
I am new to home recording and I have a question. I have a Tascam 424 MKII. I also have a Yamaha receiver 75 watts which I am using for a monitor and playbacks. I have been slowly setting up to do recordings but the major hurdle I have is getting a good recorder for recording masters for duplication and distribution.

I have been advised that instead of cassette tape mixdown using a CD Burner for mixdowns and mastering. Can anyone give me the pros and cons of such a move? Is it worth considering at all?

Thanks for any answers,
Troubadour

There's no doubt that a quality cassette deck can capture the full fidelity of a Portastudio's out put. The only problem with cassette is that it is a fleeting format.

Manufactures seem to offer less and less skews every year and in many cases the ones they do offer are lower end machines with less then ideal design objectives and matching specs to boot.

There is alway the option of purchasing a used higher end cassette deck like a Teac 3 head or a Nakamichi or Denon model.

The option of using a good used open reel recorder in a half track, stereo format would also be a wonderful format to master onto giving you something that a mastering facility could actually work with to make commercial CD's from.

Stand-a-lone CD recorders also offer a high degree of fidelity so long as you don't overload them signal-wise and don't pre-compress your signal and thus give a mastering facility nothing to work with dynamically.

Another option is to make a 24 bit digital master on a professional DAT recorder or computer based recording medium.

If your end goal is to be able to present a mastering facility with a usable stereo formated, ready for industrial distribution, recording, 24 bit digital and half track open reel recordings are the formats of choice in the professional world.