M3700 Headphones Problem - can hear all incoming signals all the time

wolf728

Hello! This is my first post. I bought an ATR80 and a M3700 a few months ago and I'm just in the process of soldering patchbays and setting everything up.

I powered the desk up for the first time today and apart from one light bulb in the master VUs, everything looks fine. The first problem I encountered is that I can always hear all 24 tape inputs on my headphones (including the SMPTE track on 24) even when the headphones volume is turned all the way down. When I push up a fader, I can hear the signal on the channel and the rest gets a bit quieter, but it always stays on.

Is this a grounding problem? I didn't try the XLR outs on the back side yet.

I'd be very happy if somebody with experience regarding this desk could help me. Thanks!

I have worked on one in the past but I am no expert. The likely issue is that the prefader listen buttons are all down. These are normally kept up or out.
look at the block diagram of the mixer to determine the possible cause. I get phone calls from past clients that are young and just entering into this type of
equipment. Part of the task of buying the equipment is also understanding how to use it. The larger a mixer is the more features it has on it and these can be confusing if you started with a 6 in 4 buss mixer like the Model 2. In all my years of working on all the Tascam mixers we never had a malfunction like this.
Mostly it is users error.

Thanks for your answer. I probably should have stated that I am by no means a beginner. I have worked on plenty of different desks for 20 years.

This is clearly a malfunction. There are no solo buttons pressed, no Aux channels open etc. Everything off. As stated above, the problem even occurs with the headphone volume all the way down. I have read a lot about this mixer in this forum and problems like this seem pretty common, especially with respect to the headphones out.