Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: how to factory reset tascam dp-01

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    how to factory reset tascam dp-01

    Sign in to disable this ad
    i cant find it anywhere online

    any one know how to rest the tascam dp-01

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    El Salvador, Central America
    Age
    47
    Posts
    348
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    216902
    You just have to format the hard drive.
    That's all.
    It's in the manual under Disk management page 36.
    Hope this helps.
    Cheers!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i cant cause it wont start up
    i brought it to, where i bought it and they tried everything, they ahd the manual out and idk, they said they will call for me on monday

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    83
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    16
    As Nico said, there is no "reset". If you can't start it up, a reset wouldn't help anyway. What happens when you try to start it up? Do you get any error messages? Does the power come on? Can you hear the hard drive spin up? Without any details, it could be anything from a blown power supply to a loose cable inside to a problem with the hard drive. If it's still under warranty, just exchange it.
    Woollen Candle - tshirts for people who record at home

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    YeAH IF you even just turn it off by the switch instead of the [shut down] button (like "I" did a Bunch of times the first hour I had it) it'll Lock uP and not get past the "now-working" box with the little boxes going across again and again.

    what I did was to pull out the drive and put in a different one (since I had a pile lying around) BUT if I didn't I would've tried just sticking it in my pc and maybe reformatting it etc. (OR maybe deleting things if there was anything on there) ..NOT to format it correctly but jUST to erase whatever screwed-up "startup routine" was on there.

    Then the minute the tascam sees a drive without whatever start-up routine there was THEN it'll go right into format mode if I remember correctly (or at least tells you what to to)

    I guess it's start-up routine in a boot-sector is really FraGiLe or something?

    (Really though..there's goTTa be a 2-button-on-startup secret reset function somewhere..not in the manual..not online anywhere : (

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    I realize this in an old thread but let me save some time for the passer by's like myself that still have this question. After 2 days of tedious internet searching I came across a reset for the dp-01fx. Hopefully this works for the dp01 owners as well.

    Press and hold down the "track edit" and the "shut down" buttons while turning the power on until it says "-init screen- please wait". It will ask you if your sure you want to initialize hdd. If so press yes/enter. this WILL wipe your hard drive clean. If no just press no/exit.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to zoomflick For This Useful Post:


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. My new TASCAM 388 + LOTS of pictures!!
    By cjacek in forum Analog Recording & Mixing - Tape & Gear
    Replies: 86
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 13:12
  2. FS: TASCAM 34B New-In-Box!
    By cjacek in forum Free Ads for Music/Recording Equipment
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 12-13-2007, 05:02
  3. Pro Tools Digi 001 OR Tascam 2488
    By sevendustweb in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-21-2005, 16:06
  4. Pro Tools Digi 001 OR Tascam 2488
    By sevendustweb in forum Newbies
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-21-2005, 15:37
  5. Mackie into Tascam problem
    By SouthSIDE Glen in forum Recording Techniques
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-27-2005, 19:35

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •