Export 16 bit files to a 24 bit recording?

TECHNINOT

Hello!

Thanks to David Wills of Pro Audio DVDs, I just recently came to understand the interest of recording in the 24 bit/48kHz mode (which means that I will probably re-record over 20 songs that I’ve been working on for the last five years). Oh well…

My question today is can I export 16 bit files to a 24 bit recording?
For the song I am presently working on, I have been able to record 4 rather choir-like background vocals that I particularly like - for the overall color, feeling, etc. Even if I absolutely must start the recording again in 24 bit mode, I would love to be able to import those 4 tracks. I don’t use a DAW system but I do have Garage Band on my laptop - can I do something?

Thanks for your precious assistance.

You can definitely use 16 bit files in a 24 bit project, in a general sense. I don't know the specifics for whatever device you might be using. What device are you using?

If you go back to your multitracks and try to re-do them you'll never be happy, so just import them. I now record at 24 bit as standard but loads of our stuff has archive material and cubase just deals with them without me getting involved. Just try it on the laptop and see how it goes. To be honest, converting them will probably be transaparent and you won't be able to tell.

16 bit to 24 bit rerun

Hello again,

Please forgive me, I neglected to mention that I work with a TASCAM DP24SD - without any DAW assistance.
My hope was to be able to recuperate some tracks, but I'm not 100% against starting all over with all my song projects - especially if using the 24 bit format is going to improve my sound and the faciltity of creating it.

Thanks for your ideas.

Hello!

Thanks to David Wills of Pro Audio DVDs, I just recently came to understand the interest of recording in the 24 bit/48kHz mode (which means that I will probably re-record over 20 songs that I’ve been working on for the last five years). Oh well…

and..