Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Digital crackles when playback un anti DAW - Not a buffer size problem !

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Quote Originally Posted by TalismanRich View Post
    I remember reading a post about the Intel USB 3.0 port having some issues. I think they tried a Renesas based card and things worked well. Unfortunately that was some time ago, and I can't find the thread anymore. I remember the Renases chip because I was looking at cards with that chipset and jotted it down.

    Having the 16x08, my system only does 2.0, so theres no way for me to test anything.

    Update, I found the thread. It was on a Cakewalk / Sonor forum. Tascam Noise issue

    Hope it helps a little.
    Yes but I forgot to mention that this is a laptop.
    PCIe cards for laptops, it's complicated...

    Thanx anyway!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    6,657
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 469 Times in 438 Posts
    Rep Power
    12977803
    Quote Originally Posted by fictionman View Post
    Thanx guys for you help.
    UPDATE : I worked about one hour on Reaper via USB 2.0 and the crackles had appeared. Less crackles but crackles anyway

    I will continue to seek, it makes me crazy!

    Thanx again
    You did raise your buffer rates up? Depending on my things, I usually keep my buffers at 256. There is some lag, but more of a chorus effect and not too bad. I thing 128 and lower becomes difficult to achieve on most computers.
    DM60 Tunes: The Collection

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DM60 View Post
    You did raise your buffer rates up? Depending on my things, I usually keep my buffers at 256. There is some lag, but more of a chorus effect and not too bad. I thing 128 and lower becomes difficult to achieve on most computers.
    Yes, when I record stuff, I'm always at 256 buffer size

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi everyone,

    First of all : thanx so much for your help!

    I'm progressing on the issue. I started over this weekend.

    I realized that there was an important OS update stuck in Windows Update...

    So I've uninstalled the Tascam Driver and I've disconnected the unit from my laptop and I made the update, and checked the OS was running well.

    Then, I followed each step of this and rebooted the computer : 20 ways to optimize your Windows 10 PC for music production

    Then, I've installed the last Tascam driver without pluging the unit.
    Reboot again.

    And only after the OS was up and running, I plugged the unit and powered it on.

    Now, I have worked a couple of hours on my DAW and no crackles/pops/clicks at all!

    I hope this will carry on like this, but I'm really optimistic :thumbup:

    I will let you know if the problem is not resolved but I think it's ok.
    I don't know precisely which step was successful but maybe this is all these steps together which made the job!

    Thanx again, and I hope this will be helpful for someone else.

    Cheers 8-)

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to fictionman For This Useful Post:


  6. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Cracks, pops and clicks are almost always due to driver related issues.
    The only other thing to suggest is using decent cables for the connectivity.
    The laptop is fine though and Iíve used less with good performance.
    Lastly, make sure you test with all lights, monitors etc off as these can result in interference.

    Sounds like you may have resolved so good luck!



    Quote Originally Posted by fictionman View Post
    Hi everyone,

    First of all : thanx so much for your help!

    I'm progressing on the issue. I started over this weekend.

    I realized that there was an important OS update stuck in Windows Update...

    So I've uninstalled the Tascam Driver and I've disconnected the unit from my laptop and I made the update, and checked the OS was running well.

    Then, I followed each step of this and rebooted the computer : 20 ways to optimize your Windows 10 PC for music production

    Then, I've installed the last Tascam driver without pluging the unit.
    Reboot again.

    And only after the OS was up and running, I plugged the unit and powered it on.

    Now, I have worked a couple of hours on my DAW and no crackles/pops/clicks at all!

    I hope this will carry on like this, but I'm really optimistic :thumbup:

    I will let you know if the problem is not resolved but I think it's ok.
    I don't know precisely which step was successful but maybe this is all these steps together which made the job!

    Thanx again, and I hope this will be helpful for someone else.

    Cheers 8-)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Buffer Size In Digital Performer...
    By ghetto3jon in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-15-2006, 15:44
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 07:26
  3. A problem with playback or buffer size
    By scottrock84 in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-11-2004, 06:04
  4. A problem with playback or buffer size
    By scottrock84 in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2004, 20:56
  5. Relationship Between Buffer Size and Buffer Size
    By Merverus in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2003, 22:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •