Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Crackling Sound on TASCAM US122-L

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Crackling Sound on TASCAM US122-L

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi,

    I've just setup Guitar Rig 3 with Cubase 4 and Tascam US122-L (digital interface) and I've been having issues with slight sound crackling in the background. This occurs while playing the guitar, during playback and recording as well.

    I've purchased dedicated USB card for Tascam and set latency to "normal" (as it was crackling even more in low latency setting) but everytime I use software I get slight sound issues.

    Tried it all under XP and Vista but still same problem. I've updated the firmware and driver for Tascam still only slight improvement.

    Any ideas what could be causing the crackling?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hmm, didn't see your topic, I'm suffering from this as well. Any help would be appreciated.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey bud, I dug around a bit.

    I think the issue is that our computers aren't issuing enough current to the device. I know it happens for me during loud parts of music. I turned down the overall volume (in Xp... Control Panel -> Sounds and Audio device and set the volume in the Volume Tab) Try playing around you'll notice you get pops and cracks when you increase the volume.

    Other people have suggested getting an externally powered usb hub to power this sucker, I'll stick with the volume trick for now, since you can crank up you externally powered speakers. I took a look at the specifications for Tascam US122L, the maximum current intake is 500mA so be careful if you're going for externally powered hubs... I'm sure most usb hubs provide some means to prevent frying usb devices, but I'm not too bright in that area. Advice given to me is "don't buy a cheap usb hub"

    Hope that helps.

    Paul
    Kaiyoti

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    yep I've tried putting in dedicated usb card ... didn't really do much my motherboard is pretty good anyway ...

    but funny thing is it does seem to relate to volume and stronger signal so I reckon it is a latency issue or even a bad driver issue ... I used 1.12 and updated firmware but no luck.

    my volume is pretty low overall so this still causes issue for me because I am monitoring on my headphones I am recording with a mic as well so it will pickup any sound in the room, can't rely on speakers... I've tried various settings without any luck so far ... mainly happens with vst instruments such as guitar rig 3 when I play low notes or many notes in small time span ... it's just a small static crackling but it gets recorded I checked all my jacks, cables etc...

    I am running Core 2 Duo, 2GB ram , clean vista install ... the latency cracks least on "normal" setting of 16ms ... everything else is much worse

    any ideas welcome ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, I am having the same issues with mine. It shows up at any volume but it's just a little harder to hear when it's loud. Did you guys figure out any solutions to this problem or what is causing it. It is very aggravating.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I just read this that someone posted....bought this in Jan. 2008 to record guitar tracks onto my macbook (Garageband). I didn't like it for some of the reasons stated: notably, the recording levels were hard to manage (signal would easily spike), and there were crackles frequently. However, I loaded the latest driver--updated since my purchase--and it seems fine now. I use it to record our band (we mic guitar, bass, vocals, and 3 mics on drums through a Yamaha mixer, with the monitor channel mixing into the Tascam, then to the computer). The signal is good, low noise, no crackles.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    yeah I've updated to 1.12 straight away got a bit better result but I still have crackling especially at higher volumes ... it's totally random even doh cpu usage is around 15% with vst instruments ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I just downloaded the new drivers too. But I haven't been able to check it out yet. I am going to try tonight. I'll let you know if it works. Also when you are plugged in via USB check to see how much power the Tascam is taking. Mine said it was requesting around 480mA and my USB supports 500mA so I was in the limit but it was close. I found this post online, maybe it will help you...

    Go to device manager in WIndows XP and see the properties of the USB Root Hubs,
    you can see which device is attached and how much current strength it demands.

    One USB Root Hub can provide max 500mA and the Tascam needs the full amount !!
    Some onboard USB's do not provide that reliably


    Yes that's German, okay...well,it means "Properties of USB-Root Hub"
    and can be found in the XP device manager.

    Try different combinations with your USB devices until you got the US-122 alone at it's own port.
    Check Device Manger to get sure.

    You may try the famous "Asio4All" driver which provides an alternative ASIO Interface to the applications.
    and is under permanent development for improvement.
    Some people made it work by using this one instead.
    Try with and without hardware buffer in the ASIO4All control panel.

    http://www.asio4all.com

    All the best..and good luck.

    Good luck

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So I tried the Tascam again. No luck still crackles. It is only when I play and more noticable when I play quiet. My usb port is fine and my cpu is only at 20% when running the program. I guess I have to keep looking. Maybe I will call the company. Laters

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I also have what sounds like this problem. I figured out that the crackling only occurs when the input signal is just loud enough to trigger the LEDs.

    Tried updating the firmware which made no difference.

    I read on this forum that the US-122L is quite power hungry so I tried using a D-Link powered USB hub (like this one: http://www.amazon.co.uk/D-Link-DUB-H...9752382&sr=8-2) and what do you know it seems to have fixed the problem!

    Haven't tested it for any length of time but thought you'd appreciate a solution which worked for me.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Speakers for Tascam us122
    By adolescentsfan in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-03-2006, 05:03
  2. Tascam US122 Users
    By Tonyjava in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-19-2006, 05:47
  3. Tascam US122 and Sonar
    By juanvarela in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2005, 17:45
  4. Tascam US122 USB / Cubasis ??
    By bubinski in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-23-2005, 03:30
  5. CWPA9.02 Doesn't Like Tascam US122?
    By sickboy70 in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-09-2005, 10:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •