424 MKIII - What else do I need?

sackbutcharlie

I am hoping for some guidance. I used to be a musician but have not been in a recording studio in 20 years. I am interested in recording a family member who sings and plays acoustic guitar. I am thinking about getting a 4-track cassette. My questions are: #1 - Can I run a mike right into this or do need any type of pre amp? #2 - It looks like the board is built in, am I correct that no other mixer is required? #3 - Can the built-in board also be used to mix output to a 2-track master (or cassette or CD or whatever)?

What I have read makes it sound like all I need s the 424, a couple of good mikes, and a tape or CD recorder to mix down to (plus monitors, headphones, etc.). Is that right?

Thanks!

thats all you need. I own a424 and it has built in preamps. its a complete studio. Just plug in your mike and start recording. Then mix your tracks down to stereo on a cassette deck. Have fun!

If you have any condenser mics you'll need a Phantom Power source as the Tascam Portastudios don't provide it. But you should be able to find one easily enough.

excellent...

This is exactly the question I wanted to ask, excellent. I do have one more little thing to ask: should I use some sort of compressor on my signal going in to the MKIII, more specifically, on vocals? I am planning on recording an acoustic album, with just my voice and my guitar. I have an old Ibanez Compressor/Limiter that I used to use for electric guitar, any chance I could use that? It only has quarter inch inputs and outputs, much the same as all stomp boxes. Any advice would be great, thanks a lot!

Hey Hey... Some sort of compressor is always a good idea, but try recording with and then without it. If the difference is to your liking, use the set up you like.. I don't tend to use my compressor with my acuostic, but do use it for vocals. Get a reverb unit too, for both the guitar and vocals, add a little and you can't go to far wrong.
Zeek