424 MK III User Manual Error Question

cbdunn

I just brought home my new MKIII. I am aware of the user manual errors on page 18. I have the new procedure as listed on the MKIII review page added to my user manual. Now, I am VERY new to this, but I am not stupid. I still cannot hear what I record. I have tried mic (channel 1) and guitar (channel 2). I am getting good signals through both (I have tried each individually.) I can see the levels peaking at no higher than 5. I can hear wonderfully through the headphones. Everything seems to work fine as I follow the steps as written. However, when I get to playback, I hear nothing but hiss (when I turn the levels all the way up) with a VERY faint sound of what I recorded (again, levels all the way up).

I have started from scratch (per the manual with the revised page 18 steps) over five times (Each time I start from the factory positions--everything off, all faders down, etc.). Each time I get the same results. I can hear what I am playing... I can hear when I am recording... I just can't hear anything when I play back.

I am using TDK SA 60 tapes. I am running at high speed. DBX is off.

As a former technical writer, I am not impressed with the manual. In addition, this is particularly frustrating because I can usually figure out things like this (electronics). But these "music electronics" seem much more difficult than other electronics I have used in the past.

I just need a step in the right direction and then a good reference book for the MKIII. Is the TASCAM tape they push on the outside of the MKIII box worth purchasing? Do you have any other recommendations as to how I might learn more about my new 4-track and eventually become a proficient home musician with this equipment? I am so new to this that I don't know exactly where to start. Any help is greatly appreciated--the more the merrier.

Chris
Minnesota