VST MIDI Routing

Hans Adamson

Hello Guys,

I am new to Cubase so this may be evident to most. How can I load a VST3 plugin and route the MIDI output to another track?

Thanks in advance.

/Hans

You need to explain what you are trying to do? what kind of plugin is it? A processing plugin, or an instrument one - or something else?

Essentially as you mention MIDI, I assume an instrument but why would you want to send an output to another track? Normally, MIDI comes in - you do something with it, and audio comes out, OR, MIDI exits the computer and goes to an external synth or something? So what is this MIDI out you then want to go somewhere else? Not really sure what you're doing?

You need to explain what you are trying to do? what kind of plugin is it? A processing plugin, or an instrument one - or something else?

Essentially as you mention MIDI, I assume an instrument but why would you want to send an output to another track? Normally, MIDI comes in - you do something with it, and audio comes out, OR, MIDI exits the computer and goes to an external synth or something? So what is this MIDI out you then want to go somewhere else? Not really sure what you're doing?

It is an internal MIDI processing VST3 plugin. I need to route the MIDI output to tracks containing VSTi instruments. /Thanks

Like Rob, I'm not sure of what you are trying to do. Also, I'm not familiar with Cubase.

But the general practice is to create a track, record or load a midi file to it, and insert a VST on the track as an FX.

However, there are a number of ways of doing it.