Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Upgrading...finally.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Upgrading...finally.

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Jumping from Cubase 7.5 to Cubase 10.5, likely on a new PC with Win10 (was on Win7)

    My question is will my old Cubase 7 projects be usable in 10.5 and on Win 10?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    alabama
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 42 Times in 39 Posts
    Rep Power
    2511840
    I think it will, I have 8.5 and have been able to open projects recorded on 7. to be safe you can export the tracks for your projects and always import them into the new version.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Atkron205 View Post
    I think it will, I have 8.5 and have been able to open projects recorded on 7. to be safe you can export the tracks for your projects and always import them into the new version.
    That's true, good point, I could always do that. I'm thinking more about settings, automation, things like that. It would really suck to have to re-do all that basically starting from scratch with the raw tracks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,074
    Thanks
    240
    Thanked 127 Times in 120 Posts
    Rep Power
    2383180
    Going from Win 7 to Win 10 should present no issues at all. As for going to an updated Cubase from an older version.......I can't imagine that Cubase would develop an upgrade that could not use older file / project versions.
    Just A Song Writer..........

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    14,457
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 613 Times in 560 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474864
    You shouldn't have any problems. I have Cubase 10 Artist and opened a project from 2012 as a test. I think I was running Cubase 6.5 at that time. There were some missing plug-ins that I'm not using anymore, but that was the only issue and it was not related to Cubase. The project opened fine and I had all my tracks.

    As a side note, I might have to revisit that song. Sounded pretty good.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Age
    50
    Posts
    19,677
    Thanks
    1,017
    Thanked 742 Times in 666 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474865
    It does seem that Cubase has officially abandoned W7 to a degree with new update to C10.5. 10.5 is only supporting W10. That does not mean it won't work with W7, but I am not going there because of the statement and what members were saying on the Steinberg forum.

    If it not broke, I don't find the need to fix it...

    From every upgrade from Cubase 4 til now, all old projects have opened. I have had no issue myself. The leap from 32 to 64-bit software caused many problems, but that is a different story altogether.
    PC Win7-64-24G i7-4790k/Cubase 10 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7x/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne 4 Studio/Other things that don't mean anything if a client shows up not knowing what it wants.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Auburn NY
    Posts
    2,875
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
    Rep Power
    6808373
    Older projects should open in newer versions of cubase. If I remember right they introduced backwards compatibility after C7.
    My home studio ---> www.nerolstudio.com

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Finally - upgrading preamp
    By siog in forum The Rack
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-03-2014, 18:59
  2. Finally upgrading my dinky little home studio!
    By Meatballx in forum Studio Building & Acoustic Treatment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-17-2013, 09:16
  3. upgrading RAM with XP
    By dastrick in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-09-2009, 10:25
  4. Upgrading PC from P3 to P4
    By Mr_pink_eyes in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-17-2004, 11:26
  5. Help with upgrading my kit
    By philsaudio in forum Drums and Percussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-13-2004, 13:45

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •