Multiple time signature changes in a song

johnnyarrow1215

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to the music production world and to this forum, firstly I would just like to say I have learnt so much from you all in this forum, so thank you...

As the title suggests I have a problem with time signature/tempo changes in my songs. I'm using Cubase Artist 7 - I generally compose tech metal/djent/progressive stuff, which often has many tempo changes and time sig' changes throughout each song...
My question therefore is...when I playback the full song, how do I get Cubase to recognise each tempo change? For instance, in 1 of my tracks 0:00-1:23 the riff is at 105.00bpm, 1:24-1:50 the riff is at 140.000bpm, then reverts back down to 105.00, then later in the song it goes up to 165.000bpm... (I know these seem quite a draconian change in tempo - just using as a test for now :)

I've not even considered actual time signatures here as they to change (in many of my compositions) but I don't want to complicate myself :)

I guess this post is also asking how would the pro's approach this situation? If you have, say, 3 time signature changes in 1 song, you record them all seperately to a click as normal, but when they are played back, for some reason on mine, either the Superior Drummer track or 1 of the guitars are out of sync with one another and it sounds a mess.

Is there something simple I'm missing? Any guidance on this would be much appreciated.

Johnny.

You can do both time and tempo changes.

I think it's command (winows key maybe) + T or apple + T on a mac.

Then you just draw in your changes. You can either do a ramp (tempo changes over time) or a jump (tempo changes immediately).

You can draw in additional time signatures.

Guitargodgt - thanks for the reply. I'm at work at mo (working hard as per :) so will try your suggestion out when I get home later.