Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: Mixdown failure in cubase ai8

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    133
    Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    214751
    Sign in to disable this ad
    So: Now all 5t0 tracks are going a one stereo buss. Mix the track while monitoring just that stereo buss and you'll get ther mix you want. I suspect the other three buss levels are what has changed your mix.
    Phew.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    153
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Coquet-Shack View Post
    So: Now all 5t0 tracks are going a one stereo buss. Mix the track while monitoring just that stereo buss and you'll get ther mix you want. I suspect the other three buss levels are what has changed your mix.
    Phew.
    Yes the mix changed after mixdown but I deleted the old mixdown and remixed on the single stereo output and exported mixdown and that's fine for now.I think the next step is to drag it or select it in to a mixdown fresh project and start mastering through the inserts, sends and adding compression and EQ to the main output.I'm not sure how to start because different forums have so many different ways of mixing and mastering.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Robert Donithan For This Useful Post:


  4. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    153
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Yes I had to readjust the faders or volume for most of the 50 tracks first and then mixdown the stereo buss.
    Last edited by Robert Donithan; 06-18-2019 at 07:38. Reason: Double post

  5. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    153
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by bouldersoundguy View Post
    Perhaps there were volume adjustments on some of the outputs you were using before which are no longer being applied now that everything is going to the main output.

    Robert Donithan said:
    1 Minute Ago
    Yes I had to readjust the faders or volume for most of the 50 tracks first and then mixdown the stereo buss.

  6. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    153
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Chili View Post
    Upon a closer look, you have 32bit depth selected and you chose to have the mixdown track imported back into your mix. Are you sure those are the choices you want to make?
    I want to have the project dragged or selected from a pool of clips and recordings in cubase and put it into a fresh preset project called "Mixdown" and start mastering fromvthete. But truthfully I haven't exactly finish my project but hurt my knee a little and just needed to study or learn how to mixdown and master when wasn't doing anything.I think I can still finish the project and just add it to the mixdown project later.Maybe it will line up in time and tempo to the first mixdown, if not I'll just move the tracks until they do.Thanks.About the 32bit, I have the 64bit version of cubase and Windows10 Pro..so I don't know if that makes a difference in quality or what.

  7. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    7,845
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 498 Times in 461 Posts
    Rep Power
    14818761
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Donithan View Post
    About the 32bit, I have the 64bit version of cubase and Windows10 Pro..so I don't know if that makes a difference in quality or what.
    32 bit (float) audio files and 64 bit software are to completely separate and independent things.

    The audio file bit depth is something you select based on what you're going to do with the file later. If you're going to do further processing then 24 or 32 bit is a good idea. If the file is for release to the listening public then 16 is usual, though 24 might be appropriate.

    The version of the software you use is dependent on the computer you're running it on. You can't run 64 bit programs on a 32 bit computer. A 64 bit computer running 64 bit software will generally outperform a computer running 32 bit software.

  8. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    153
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by bouldersoundguy View Post
    32 bit (float) audio files and 64 bit software are to completely separate and independent things.

    The audio file bit depth is something you select based on what you're going to do with the file later. If you're going to do further processing then 24 or 32 bit is a good idea. If the file is for release to the listening public then 16 is usual, though 24 might be appropriate.

    The version of the software you use is dependent on the computer you're running it on. You can't run 64 bit programs on a 32 bit computer. A 64 bit computer running 64 bit software will generally outperform a computer running 32 bit software.
    Further processing..and WoW did just the one plugin that's connected to the main output that Cubaseai8 gives me for a preset Mastering Project, it was the difference from my guitar sounding like rattling cans starting out to sitting right in the mix.All I did was fish through the presets and sampled the sound until I got the right one.I now can do things through the stereo output with inserts and sends and fool with the EQ waves.thanks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cubase Mixdown Failure
    By Bongles Dad in forum Recording Techniques
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 04:25
  2. Cubase 5 Metronome heart failure!
    By aviv in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 06:54
  3. Cubase MP3 Mixdown
    By juicypork in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 09:32
  4. Mixdown Midi in Cubase 5 ?
    By Slightly_Imp in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2001, 06:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •