Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: help with sounding VST's via midi controller

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    help with sounding VST's via midi controller

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hey! This has probably been covered to some extent, but I am hard headed and lazy, so bear with me!

    I have Cubase SX3, pc based. I am using an EMU-1820m interface. I have a "generic" cheapy midi controller with only a midi out. (it is an MK something or other).
    When I set up a midi track I can not get my VST to sound while using my controller.
    I see there is midi activity when I press a key.
    I have "all midi devices" set as input and "any" channel. I have the output set as the VST. I have "midi-thru" activated. I have "record enabled".
    What am I not doing right?
    When I click on the virtual device, say a synth, I get a sound... it is just that my external midi controller will not trigger the sound.
    I will greatly appreciate any advice offered!
    Thanks,
    Don Lindsay
    dlindsay@pineland.net

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    England
    Age
    44
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    220609
    Have you checked that the keyboard is set to the same MIDI channel as the Cubase track?
    [url=http://www.thesoundofglass.com]The Sound of Glass[/url]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    cubase, vst, midi controller

    Thanks for the reply!
    Yes, as I mentioned I set my input to "any" channel. That way it does not matter what channel the keyboard is transmitting, right?
    It is also the only midi device that I have connected. It is connected to the front midi conection on my 1820m breakout box.
    Don

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    SoCali
    Posts
    2,264
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    8609372
    Quote Originally Posted by dlindsay
    Hey! This has probably been covered to some extent, but I am hard headed and lazy, so bear with me!
    Well, since you put it that way...

    Quote Originally Posted by dlindsay
    I have "all midi devices" set as input and "any" channel.
    Sounds like your laziness is biting you in the ass Set the channel to the proper channel, and make sure your VSTi is also set to receive on that channel (usually setting the cubase MIDI channel to 1 is a good choice, as most synths are either set to omni or default to 1). And instead of having "all midi devices" select the correct one. Cubase doesn't like it when people are being sloppy with it.
    [QUOTE=George Carlin]Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that.[/QUOTE]

    [QUOTE=Oscar Wilde]All art is useless.[/QUOTE]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In the living room and bedroom
    Age
    41
    Posts
    338
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    dont forget to turn on the monitor on the track,you know ,the (speaker picture) button in thet rack view

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    well what i always found helped me is getting really angry and start yelling at your computer screen...not even the actual computer, but the screen, as if it did something to you...then come back to it 20 minutse later and give it a kiss for being mean

    lol sorry, no food...makes u crazy and all hyper

    then u might want to see if your midi controller is actually working or not, or maybe the midi wire might be damaged?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    it ain't working

    Thanks to everyone for their input!
    I still can't get any midi signal to the track I want to record to.
    I have carefully followed all of the advice and directions I could get my hands on.
    From what I can tell... my midi controller is working... as I can get it to sound using my Boss Dr-5 as a sound module.
    Could my problem have to do with the way the controller is set up in Cubase? I just have it listed as a GM device.
    Remember, my 1820m breakout box shows midi activity when the controller is connected... also when I press a key on the keyboard the midi input meter indicates activity in Cubase... BUT I get NO midi activity on the midi track itself.
    The track input is set as EMU midi input 1 and the output is set as the soft synth or whatever I want to sound. I have matched the midi channels between controller and track. I have differentiated between the actual midi ports and the emulated ones.
    Under my Windows xp control panel I have the proper hardware chosen.
    If I needed to call for support, should I call EMU or Cubase?
    Thanks again,

    Don

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Midi and Creamware
    By dangerman in forum MIDI Mania
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2005, 23:53
  2. MIDI controller question
    By Dr. B in forum Newbies
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2005, 08:13
  3. MIDI Controller VS. Keybaord w/ MIDI for Finale 2003
    By nicklikesfood in forum MIDI Mania
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2004, 13:18
  4. MIDI controller or portable keyboard for Finale 2003?
    By nicklikesfood in forum Keyboards and Sound Modules
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2004, 16:42
  5. Advice needed on MIDI Keyboard Controller
    By bullyhill in forum Keyboards and Sound Modules
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-28-2003, 06:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •