Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: groups

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    groups

    Sign in to disable this ad
    about group channels and fx... if you use a group channel and you send a couple of tracks to it for some reverb and delay...it doesnt matter if the fx are put in the insert side,left or the sends side ,right...?? no?? or if so why..
    thanx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Age
    51
    Posts
    19,813
    Thanks
    1,052
    Thanked 759 Times in 680 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474865
    I guess that depends on what you are using the group channel for.

    You can Send (right side) from any individual track or group to an FX channel.

    Typically the reason you want a group channel is to effect multiple tracks in the same way. You would Insert (left side) say a compressor or eq on a group track so that the inserted fx work on all tracks. You would not necessarily Send to a compressor.

    You can also use a Group track to allow more than the 4 insert limit of LE version of Cubase.

    Hope that helps.
    Last edited by jimmys69; 05-26-2020 at 04:30.
    PC Win7-64-24G i7-4790k/Cubase 10 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7x/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne 4 Studio/Other things that don't mean anything if a client shows up not knowing what it wants.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    so....you might be better to do FX channel if you want to adjust fx for every track you SEND there...but otherwise you could do a group channel to fx all the tracks the same....? I see why this confuses some people... like me..

    as far as saving cpu would one tend to be more efficient than the other....?saving cpu is an issue for some of us with 2 core...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Age
    51
    Posts
    19,813
    Thanks
    1,052
    Thanked 759 Times in 680 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474865
    It really depends on the plug in. Reverbs tend to be resource hogs, so typically best to use them as an FX track. Also it is typical (but not always) to use a reverb to place instruments in the same 'space' - so to speak.

    Things like eq and compression, generally do not eat up near as much resources and are used more specifically to individual instruments. So better as an insert on individual tracks or multiple tracks in a group.

    Also remember that you can disable resource heavy plug-ins while tracking with lower buffer to keep your latency down. Then fire them up and raise your buffer so your PC doesn't choke.
    PC Win7-64-24G i7-4790k/Cubase 10 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7x/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne 4 Studio/Other things that don't mean anything if a client shows up not knowing what it wants.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Analog Heaven!!!
    Age
    50
    Posts
    5,168
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    1865681
    Typically, you would not send tracks to a group just to add reverb. As stated above, set your reverb up as an fx track, and use sends to add reverb. All tracks can have the same amount of verb, or you can vary each track. It's also the least cpu intensive way to use a reverb.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How do you mix tracks into groups?
    By BluesPower in forum Mixing Techniques
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 15:24
  2. UR-80 fader groups
    By Ness in forum Keyboards and Sound Modules
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-28-2005, 10:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •