Cubase-specific MIDI issue, probably only an issue because I'm a noob...

xgarmothx

Shredmaster Alpha
:confused:

I have a Roland XP-30 and Cubase SX 3. I managed to get Cubase to recognise the XP30 through downloading a 3rd party XML file, and my MIDI-in works fine. However, when I pull down my track's MIDI-out, it gives me XP-30 [NOT CONNECTED]. In the MIDI device manager, the XP-30 isn't in the OUT drop-down either.

And yes, I searched google and the forums, but I'm a bit clueless with MIDI in general and anything that may have been an answer was a bit convaluded...

I appreciate this very much, lads and lassies!

Matt

that would be because it is not routed to a midi output. Open up the Device/midi device manager and select the output port you want it routed to

Thanks for the quick reply. Unfortunately, I don't understand - what seems to be the pull-down for the output option doesn't list the Roland as an acceptable output. Please see the attached screen grab (.jpg).

Thanks again!

MC

Attachments

• cb.jpg
    cb.jpg
    59.1 KB · Views: 36
The fact that you loaded an XML instrument definition file does not mean that Cubase recognizes your synth. It only means that you provided a definition for it.

You still need 'connect' the definition to a MIDI port. If you can't figure out what to do from the pull down menu above, you may want to refer to page 4-47 of the Cubase manual.

Cool. My Cubase manual is in one of many unmarked boxes since I moved, so I think I'll be downloading the pdf off Steinberg's website hahaha.

Thanks a lot. I'll try to figure it out tonight.

Just downloaded the book. Thanks for the link!

I read the entire MIDI section of the manual, and I still can't seem to get this right. I installed the instrument via the XML file. But the output dropdown should then have the instrument AS my output. That is to say, I want output to be able to be routed TO the instrument. But it won't let me. I'm missing something here.