Cubase/soundcard inputs

Neil Ogilvie

Still Learning.......
Im new to home recording and have just found this forum. Well done on a great website. Its really helped so far.
Anyway, I have a problem......
I've got a 1.8 Athlon (not that I think it makes much difference, but I thought I'd say just in case) with a Sound Blaster Audigy 5.1 soundcard with live drive running Cubasis, although I will be soon updating to Cubase.
So far I've been able to record pretty well using the live drive to input microphones and guitars. However, it has come the time to record drums. I tried inputting into the front mic input, the rear mic input, the line-in and the phono's on the front as two seperate channels. All I seem to be able to get is two microphones coming out as one track. What I need to do is be able to get about five seperate tracks recorded all at once. Is this possible?
If it isn't I've thought about using my PA (Peavey XR684) as a mixer and sending the signal out to the computer as a stereo signal. However, this would mean I could only mix the drums seperately before, not after I've recorded them. Not much good really. Any ideas anyone?
Short of that all I can think of is recording using only one microphone........
Are there any better programs I can be using that will allow me to record several tracks simultaneously?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Your problem isn't from the software, it's the hardware that is limiting you. Your best bet short of getting a new soundcard is using the mixer and sending out the stereo signal.

If you want to upgrade your soundcard, the Delta 1010 is a great choice. When you upgrade the software, you want to look at getting SX instead of Cubase also.

The Delta 1010 is kinda pricey.....
I've not had a chance to look around the website, but it seems people don't like Soundblaster Audigy's, yeah? Doesn't look like Cubase is too popular either......