Cubase LE tutorial

travelin travis

I'm writing a tutorial on the basics of Cubase LE. It will cover setting up an audio/midi interface, creating a first template, setting up vsti's/vst's, recording audio/midi, and basic editing. It's intended for first time users of Cubase LE. Does anyone have any suggestions on other things that should be covered?

I'm probably going to use Google Pages but I'd like to hear any other suggestions for free web space.

Is there any interest in this or has everyone already gone to Reaper? :D

I use LE, but I doubt I'd be any help. I probably use it at about 10% of its capability. It seems to be very capable and easy to use. I figured it out pretty much on my own and I'm a recording newbie and a computer retard.The only thing I don't like about it is that it only has 2 master effects sends. But oh well. I live with it.

I'd love to read your tutorial though. I'm always up for learning something new. :p

Lots of interfaces come bundled with LE, so I'm sure there'd be interest. Shit, I'd even read it to make sure I was going about stuff right! I think you should put something in it about monitoring through Cubase, 16-bit vs 24-bit vs 32 bit recording, different processing techniques (normalise, Phase reverse etc). Maybe somehting about the plug ins that come with LE?

I think monitoring should definitely be on the list. I remember how much trouble I had with it when I started using a pc for recording (feedback!). Good call.

The included effects and instruments are pretty lame but I'm going to use them anyway for the walk thru. I guess I could add links to some decent freebie plugs at the end.

I'll mention 16/24/32 bit recording, although I don't know a hell of alot about it myself. :D

Greg_L, has there been anything in Cubase LE that you could'nt figure out on your own or anything that's confusing?

Thanks guys.

TravisinFlorida said: